Cregrina (Craig Furuna)
"CAREGRINA, or CREGRINA (CRUGYNAU), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 6 1/2 miles (E.) from Builth, containing 119 inhabitants. This place is situated upon the banks of the river Edw, or Edwy, which falls into the Wye at Aberedw. The living is a discharged rectory, with the perpetual curacy of Llanbadarn y garreg annexed, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £ 9. 6. 8., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. David, ......." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Newbury, Robert. St. David's Church, Cregrina, Radnorshire : some notes on the history of the church and parish. 22p
Stratton, J A The 1720 terriers of Cregrina and Llanfihangel nantmelan Radnorshire Society Transactions vol 48 1978 Welsh Journals Online
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Cregrina Parish; Statistics; Area 1595 acres; Population 56 males, 53 females, total 109
Church of St David, Cregrina on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1685-1729, 1754-1989; Marriages 1685-1729, 1754-1836, 1841-1971; Burials 1685-1729, 1754-1991; Banns 1824-1990
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Aerial photograph of Penarth Mount, Cregrina in 1999 - on the People's Collection Wales site
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cregrina (Craig Furuna) to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Cregrina (Craig Furuna) has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO113519 (Lat/Lon: 52.158317, -3.297958), Cregrina (Craig Furuna) which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps (Old Ordnance Survey maps.)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)