Hide
Llanfair Llythyfnwg / Gladestry
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"GLADESTRY, a parish in the hundred and county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 4 miles (W. by S.) from Kington, containing 385 inhabitants. This parish is situated on the river Gwyddel, and is intersected by a cross road from Hay to the borough of New Radnor..............The living is a rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £ 12. 19. 4 1/2., and in the patronage of the King, as Prince of Wales. The church, dedicated to St. Mary............A small school in the village, for the gratuitous instruction of the poor, is supported by the principal occupiers of land in the parish.................The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £296. 1.,........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
Banks, Lawrence Three houses on one estate Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 72 2002 Welsh Journals OnlineBiggerton-Evans, Kathleen A. History and description of Gladestry Church and parish. Gladestry : St. Mary's Church, [1992?]. 16p
Davies, D Stedman Rev. Some notes on Gladestry Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 10 1940 Welsh Journals Online
Hughes, Robert. Gladestry 1900-1999 : a century of change. Kington : Gladestry Millennium Publications, 2000. 200p
Hughes, Robert. Sickness and health in a Radnorshire school : Gladestry School 1877-1890 and 1983-1996. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 67 1997 Welsh Journals Online
Hughes, Robert. A village with two names: the names of Gladestry. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 68 1998 Welsh Journals Online
Oliver, R C B James Crummer of Howey Hall, Esquire, 1749-1821 Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 59 1989 Welsh Journals Online
Sinclair, J B & R W D Fenn James Watt, father and son, and Radnorshire Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 62 1992 Welsh Journals Online
Sinclair, J B & R W D Fenn Mr Watt buys some farms Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 64 1994 Welsh Journals Online & vol. 65 1995 Welsh Journals Online
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Gladestry parish 1841-1901
| St Mary, Gladestry |
| Zion Baptist Chapel, Gladestry |
| Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Gladestry |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Gladestry Parish; Statistics; Area 3798 acres; Population 187 males, 175 females, total 362
|
Church of St Mary, Gladestry on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Mary's Church
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Zion Baptist Chapel, Gladestry
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1683-1946; Marriages 1683-1971; Burials 1683-1929
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Various photographs relating to Gladestry on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Llanfair Llythyfnwg / Gladestry from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanfair Llythyfnwg / Gladestry to another place.
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO225546 (Lat/Lon: 52.184242, -3.134323), Llanfair Llythyfnwg / Gladestry which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.