Llanddewi-yn-Heiob / Heyope
"HEYOP, a parish in the hundred of KNIGHTON, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 2 1/2 miles (W. N. W.) from Knighton, containing 187 inhabitants. This parish is divided into two portions, of which the eastern forms part of the borough of Cnwclas, the remainder of which is in the parish of Beguildy, and the western part of the township of Cwm Heyop, of which the remainder is in the parish of Llangunllo. It is pleasantly situated near the river Teme, and contains upwards of eight hundred acres of enclosed, and between two and three hundred acres of unenclosed, land: ................The only seat within the parish is Do1 y Velin, formerly the, residence of the late John Pritchard, Esq., and now the property of J. S. Bodenham, Esq., but unoccupied. The living is a discharged rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £5. 6. 8., endowed with £200 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. David........" ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
- Noble, F The Bronze Age Gold Torcs from Heyope, in connection with a forgotten episode of 1399 AD, and Richard II Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 25 1955 Welsh Journals Online
- Yates, Michael The Parish of Heyope Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 45 1975 Welsh Journals Online & vol. 46 1976 Welsh Journals Online
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Heyope parish 1841-1901
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Heyhop Parish including part of the Township of Heyhop; Statistics; Area 1180 acres; Population 95 males, 74 females, total 169
Church of St David, Heyop on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Heyope church and churchyard in the 1870s prior to the rebuilding of the church on the People's Collection Wales site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1679-1711, 1733-1797, 1805-1811, 1813-1986; Marriages 1679-1711, 1733-1769, 1781-1835, 1838-1959, 1962-71; Burials 1679-1711, 1733-1797, 1805-1811, 1813-1986; Banns 1824-1987
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
A Heyope Archive on the People's Collection Wales site - A collection of photographs and documents drawn from the community in and around Heyope on the border of Radnorshire.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanddewi-yn-Heiob / Heyope to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Llanddewi-yn-Heiob / Heyope has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
Heyope around 1840 & 1903 - on the Victorian Powys site
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO240740 (Lat/Lon: 52.358354, -3.116684), Llanddewi-yn-Heiob / Heyope which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
Heyope School in 1957 on the People's Collection Wales site