Hide
Trefyclawdd/Knighton
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"KNIGHTON, a borough, market town, and parish, in the hundred of KNIGHTON, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 9 3/4 miles (N. E. by N.) from New Radnor, and 158 (W. N. W.) from London, containing 1259 inhabitants. The Welsh name of this place is Trev y Clawdd, signifying " the town upon the dyke," and is derived from its situation on that stupendous rampart of earth which Offa King of the Mercians raised as a line of separation between the territories of the Cambrian princes and his own widely extended dominions................There are neither manufactures nor trade carried on in the town,................ A large wool-stapling establishment formerly existed, which failed in 1811 ;.................The market, which is on Thursday,.................Fairs are held annually on the Thursday before Easter, May 17th, October 2nd, the last Thursday in October, and the Thursday before November 12th. The parish is divided into three parts, namely, the borough, the lordship of Farrington, and the township of Cwmgilla :...............The borough is co-extensive with the manor, its common title being "The Manor and Borough of Knighton." ........................ The petty sessions for the hundred are held here ; and Knighton has been made, ............one of the polling-places in the election of a knight for the shire. The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Salop, and diocese of Hereford, endowed with £ 600 private benefaction, £ 600 royal bounty, and £ 600 parliamentary grant, and in the patronage of the Warden of the Hospital Of Clun. The church, which is dedicated to St. Edward, .............A small school for the gratuitous instruction of poor children, to which Mrs. Barnsley bequeathed £50, and Mr. Thomas Meyrick and Lieutenant-Colonel Winwood each gave a portion of land, is supported partly by the income arising from these benefactions, and partly by subscription. There are six small almshouses for the poor, ......." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
Allen, David. Excavations on Offa's Dyke, Ffrydd Road, Knighton, Powys, 1976. Transactions of the Radnorshire Society 58 (1988), p. 7-10Blackburn, Alice. Alice's Knighton 1916-1925 : Knighton revisited. [Huddersfield] : [Alice Blackburn], [1994?] 70p
Cadwallader, Mary. Knighton = Tref-y-clawdd : the town on Offa's Dyke. Presteigne : Wooden Books, 1996 148p
Davies, D Stedman Knighton Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 12 1942 Welsh Journals Online
Davies, D Stedman Stanage Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 12 1942 Welsh Journals Online
Davies, W T Kevill. The condition of the agricultural labourer : an address delivered to the memebers of the Knighton Farmers' Club, at their annual meeting... Ludlow : Edward John Partridge, pr., 1854. 20p Edmund Lamb Wallis, 1849-1940, solicitor, and alderman and freeman of the city of Hereford : extracts from his memoirs concerning his years at Knighton, 1869-1877. Transactions of the Radnorshire Society 57 (1987), p. 84-91
Extracts from Diary of Thomas Lyke, 1697- 1708 [Stanage] Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 15 1945 Welsh Journals Online
Fenn, R W D & N T Roberts The Recollections of Laura Meredith Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 55 1985 Welsh Journals Online
Hatfield, William. Knighton and District (Hereford, 1947) Reference to "Manuscript and typescripts and research notes" on Archives Network Wales
Hughes, Colin P F. A history of schools in Radnorshire : the Knighton area. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 65 1995 Welsh Journals Online
Kay, Ernest. Offa's Dyke Path North : Knighton to Prestatyn. London : Aurum, 1989. 144p
Kay, Ernest. Offa's Dyke Path South : Chepstow to Knighton. London : Aurum, 1989. 144p
Knighton Rural District, Radnorshire, the official guide. Gloucester : British Publishing, [1972] 24p
Knighton and Rebecca; an episode of 100 hundred years ago Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 13 1943 Welsh Journals Online
Lee, William. Report to the General Board of Health on a preliminary inquiry into the sewerage, drainage, and supply of water, and the sanitary condition of the inhabitants of the borough of Knighton. London : printed by W. Clowes & Sons ... for Her Majesty's Stationery Office, 1849. 20p
Noble, Frank. The traditional lore of school children in eastern Radnorshire recorded at Knighton County Secondary School 1952-3. Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 70 2000 Welsh Journals Online
Stevens, M R A A geographical survey of the sheep-rearing industry of Knighton and neighbourhood Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 18 1948 Welsh Journals Online
Tillet, Elizabeth. Knighton in 1851. Cronicl Powys. No. 49 (2000), p. 33-37
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Radnorshire Company Ltd Records 1864-1973 "The Radnorshire Coal, Lime and General Supply Company Ltd was established in 1865 and changed its name to the Radnorshire Company in 1946. The company was based in Knighton..."
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Knighton parish 1841-1901
| St Edward, Knighton |
| Knighton And Knucklas Baptist Church / Norton Street Baptist Church, Knighton |
| The Old Workshop / The Stores (former Baptist Chapel), Knighton |
| Victoria Road Baptist/Methodist Chapel, Knighton |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Knighton Parish; Statistics; Area 2461 acres; Population 770 males, 796 females, total 1566
|
Church of St Edward, Knighton on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Knighton Church on the People's Collection Wales site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1599-1964; Marriages 1599-1971; Burials 1599-1959; Banns 1946-1978
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at Hereford Archives with copies at Powys Archives
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Society of Friends Papers "... including records of Knighton Primitive Methodist Circuit, 1855-1971.........."
Victorian Powys for schools site - Knighton and District
Knighton - on Wikipedia
Various photographs relating to Knighton on the People's Collection Wales site
- The transcription of the section for Knighton / Trefyclawdd from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Trefyclawdd/Knighton to another place.
Knighton War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Knighton Castle on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Price of Norton Deeds "Deeds, 1674-1905, relating to properties mainly in Radnorshire, including deeds of the town hall or market house, stalls and standings and tolls of corn on market and fair days within the borough of Knighton, ...................."
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
Victorian Powys for schools site - Victorian Maps of Knighton and surrounding area
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO281713 (Lat/Lon: 52.33468, -3.056989), Trefyclawdd/Knighton which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Victorian Powys for schools site - Knighton and District Union Workhouse
Knighton Workhouse - on Peter Higginbotham's site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Knighton Poor Law Union records 1838-1941 " ..... 1838-1941, including Clerk to the Guardians' records, 1838-1930, including minute books, 1901-1930, ledgers, 1922-1930, and agreements with other Poor Law unions, 1917-1928; Workhouse Master's records, 1892-1907; Relieving Officer's records, 1905-1941; appointments of District Medical Officers of Health, 1903-1906; Collector's records, 1879-1939; records of non-Poor Law duties, 1841-1929, including vaccination records, 1878-1921; and poor rates records, 1901-1929."
- Knighton Workhouse property, deeds 1822-[1984]
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Knighton Burial Authority Records 1880-1977
- Knighton Local Board Maps "Ordnance Survey 25" maps of Knighton Local Board of Health, [19th century]."
- Knighton Parish overseers of the poor, records "Records relating to Knighton Parish, 1666-1831, including accounts of the Churchwardens and overseers of the poor 1666-1683; overseers' disbursements, 1741-1746; bastardy bonds, 1750-1760; settlement certificates, 1743-1783; removal orders, 1723-1831."
- Knighton Rural District Council, records 1895-1974
- Knighton Urban District Council, records 1839-1974 (mainly 1876-1974)
Victorian Powys for schools site - Victorian School Days/Knighton and District