Hide
Llanbadarn Fawr
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
" LLANBADARN-VAWR (LLAN-BADARN-VAWR), a parish in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, comprising the village of Pen y Bont, ........................... containing 491 inhabitants. It is situated on the river Ithon : the high road from Builth to Newtown runs through it, ............... : the only mansion is Pen y Bont Hall, the residence of I. C. Severn, Esq. ; ................ The village of Pen y Bont, the post-Office at which is dependent on those at Kington and Rhaiadr,................... The living is a discharged rectory, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £7. 12. 6., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Paternus, is situated about a mile and a half from Pen y Bont, ................There are places of worship for Anabaptists and Calvinistic Methodists, ............ There are two small bequests of ten shillings per annum each for the poor, one paid out of the tenement of Cwm Trallong, in this parish, and the other out of a farm called Lluest, in that of Llandewi Ystradenny. Near Pen y Bont there is a chalybeate spring, .............. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £ 185. 9............" ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanbadarn Fawr parish 1841-1901
| St Padarn, Llanbadarn Fawr |
| Religious Society Of Friends' Meeting House, Penybont |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Llanbadarn-fawr Parish; Statistics; Area 3646 acres; Population 221 males, 212 females, total 433
|
Church of St Padarn, Llanbadarn Fawr on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Padarn's Church - also Welsh Chapels and Churches
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1696-1778, 1781-1911; Marriages 1696-1795, 1797-1971; Burials 1696-1778, 1781-1919
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
- The transcription of the section for Llanbadarn Fawr from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanbadarn Fawr to another place.
Bridge collapse at Llanbadarn Fawr, 1923 - on the People's Collection Wales site
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Parc Bach or Little Park, Llanbadarn Fawr, deeds 1787-1880
- Pen-y-bont Hall Papers 1673-1947 "Penybont Hall, Llanbadarn Fawr, Radnorshire, was built by John Price (1723-1798), banker. He built up a sizeable estate, including the manor of Golon, Abbey Cwm-Hir, purchased in 1790, and other properties in Radnorshire and in Ludlow, Shropshire..............."
- Salwey and Rickards, Solicitors, Records "Deeds and related papers, 1606-1871, relating to assorted parishes in Radnorshire and Herefordshire, including deeds for lands in the parishes of Llanbadarn Fawr and Llanddewi Ystradenni, Radnorshire, 1625-1812; Bleddfa, Radnorshire, 1606-1730"
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO091648 (Lat/Lon: 52.274191, -3.334265), Llanbadarn Fawr which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanbadarn Fawr Parish and Community Council Records 1894-2002