"LLANVAREDD, or LLANVARETH (LLAN - VARETH), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 2 miles (E.) from Builth, containing 162 inhabitants. The name of this parish is derived from the situation of its church near a small rivulet called the Vareth, which flows into the river Wye at a short distance from its site. .............The turnpike road from Builth to New Radnor traverses the northern part of the parish. The living is annexed to the rectory of Aberedw, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, .............. The poor of this parish share equally with those of Aberedw and Llanbadarn y Garreg in a rent-charge of £12 . payable out of a farm called Llanola, ...........: the average annual expenditure for their support is £ 101. 4..........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Tudor, C L R. Some notes historical & descriptive of the churches and parishes of Aberedw and Llanfaredd. Cardiff : Western Mail, 1917. 56p
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Llanvareth Parish; Statistics; Area 2245 acres; Population 73 males, 67 females, total; 140
Church of St Mary, Llanfaredd on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1698-1713, 1730-1984; Marriages 1698-1713, 1730-1971; Burials 1698-1713, 1730-1979
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanfaredd to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Llanfaredd has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Llanfaredd War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO072522 (Lat/Lon: 52.160055, -3.35761), Llanfaredd which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)