Llanfihangel Rhydieithon / Llanfihangel Rhydithon
"LLANVIHANGEL-RHYD-ITHON (LLAN-VIHANGEL RHYD ITHON), a parish in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 3 miles (E. N. E.) from Pen y Bont, containing 350 inhabitants. This parish derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Michael ; ............. According to the opinion of some antiquaries, ................. the name is more properly Llanvihangel Rhiw Teithon, from its situation on a road immediately above the church, which led into the forest of Radnor, and still bears the name Rhiw Teithon..............The road from Knighton to Pen y Bont passes through the parish, and at the latter place is a post - office,........... The living is a perpetual curacy, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with £800 royal bounty, and £200 parliamentary grant, .................. The church, which is in a very dilapidated condition, is about to be taken down and rebuilt. ............small charitable donations and bequests, amounting only to £2. 10., is annually distributed among the poor. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £158. 10. .........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Watkins, W Llanfihangel Rhydithon seventy years ago Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 4 1934 Welsh Journals Online & Part II Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 5 1935 Welsh Journals Online
Watkins, W. J. H. 'Education in Llanfihangel Rhydithon and District' Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 6 1936 Welsh Journals Online
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llanfihangel Rhydithon parish 1841-1901
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Llanfihangel-Rhydithon Parish consisting of part of Llanfihangel-Rhydithon Township; Statistics; Area 3204 acres; Population 190 males, 163 females, total 353
See Welsh Chapels and Churches for a photograph of Llanfihangel Rhydithon St Michael
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Dolau Baptist Chapel
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re St Michael's Church
See John Ball's site Welsh Churches and Chapels Collection for a photograph/data re Tanhouse CM Chapel, Llanfihangel Rhydithon
Church of St Michael, Llanfihangel Rhydithon on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1725, 1732-47, 1749-55, 1758-1944; Marriages 1732-47, 1749-1837, 1839-1971; Burials 1732-47, 1749-55, 1758-1990
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Various landscape photographs in Llanfihangel Rhydithon the People's Collection Wales site
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llanfihangel Rhydieithon / Llanfihangel Rhydithon to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Llanfihangel Rhydieithon / Llanfihangel Rhydithon has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Llanfihangel Rhydithon, deeds "Deeds relating to properties in Llanfihangel Rhydithon , Radnorshire, and in Holt and Abergele, Denbighshire, 1648-1842; share certificates in the Minera Ragman Mining Company, 1863, 1871"
- Ruell family, Llandrindod, photocopies "Photocopies, , of papers of the Ruell family (1792-1891) including deeds relating to properties in Llanfihangel Rhydithon, Llanddewi Ystradenni and Llandrindod, Radnorshire, Llanwrthwl, Brecknockshire, Borden and Boughton, Kent, and St Andrew Holborn, Middlesex (1792-1891), plans of properties in Llanfihangel Rhydithon (1840), legal costs (-1869) and letters (1855-1856)."
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO159678 (Lat/Lon: 52.301854, -3.2341), Llanfihangel Rhydieithon / Llanfihangel Rhydithon which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
Victorian Powys for schools site - Llanfihangel Rhydithon School