"LLANGUNLLO (LLAN-GYNLLO), a parish comprising the Upper and Lower divisions, in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 5 1/2 miles (W.) from Knighton, containing 498 inhabitants, of which number, 323 are resident in the Upper, and 175 in the Lower, division. This place derives its name from the dedication of its church to St. Cynllo,................. The parish, which is situated in the north-eastern portion of the county, and near the source of the river Lug, is bounded on the east by the parish of Heyop, and on the west by that of Llanbister, and extends four miles in length and three in breadth, ................In ancient writings this parish is styled " Llan Gynllo cum Capellis," and the parish church of Pillith, is said to have been formerly a chapel to the mother church of this place. Llangunllo, with the adjoining parish of Pillith, constitutes a prebend in the collegiate church of Brecknock, valued in the king's books at £ 13, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a discharged vicarage, with the perpetual curacy of Pillith annexed, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £5. 1. 0 1/2., endowed with £200 royal bounty, and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. ..............A small free school, for the gratuitous instruction of eight poor children, is endowed with three acres of land in the parish. .............. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor of both divisions amounts to £ 300. 9..........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Davies, D Stedman Rev. & Rev. A Mason Llangynllo Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 12 1942 Welsh Journals Online
Lloyd, J D K The Bryans of Spoad and Crungoed Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 20 1950 Welsh Journals Online
Place names in the Llangunllo District Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 3 1933 Welsh Journals Online
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Llangynllo parish 1841-1901
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Llangynllo, or Llangunllo Parish consisting of the Townships of Lower Llangynllo, Upper Llangynllo and part of Heyhop; Statistics; Area 5627 acres; Population 251 males, 238 females, total 489
Church of St Cynllo, Llangunllo on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1744-1986; Marriages 1744-1971; Burials 1744-1925; Banns 1823-1912
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llangynllo to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Llangynllo has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Llangynllo War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO215723 (Lat/Lon: 52.342986, -3.153376), Llangynllo which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Civil Parish Records from the Swansea and Brecon Diocese Includes " ....... Llangynllo National School minutes of managers' meetings, 1903-1963;..........."