Llansanffraid-yn-Elfael / Llansaintffraid-in-Elwell
"LLANSANTFRAID IN ELVEL (LLAN-SANTFRAID YN ELVAEL), a parish in the hundred of COLWYN, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 5 miles (N. E. by E.) from Builth, containing 343 inhabitants. This parish, which derives its name from the dedication of its church, is pleasantly situated on the turnpike road from Builth, through New Radnor, to Kington in the county of Hereford, ......................... This parish constitutes a prebend in the collegiate church of Brecknock, valued in the king's books at £ 1. 6. 8., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The living is a discharged vicarage, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, rated in the king's books at £5. 14. 9 1/2., and in the patronage of the Bishop of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. Fread, or St. Bride, ............. A Sunday school is supported under the superintendence of the vicar of the parish and a few of the principal inhabitants, for the gratuitous instruction of poor children. ............ There are but slight vestiges of Colwyn castle, erected here in 1242, by Ralph Mortimer,.................The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £169.5.............." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants.
Llansantfraed-in-Elvel Parish; Statistics; Area 4000 acres; Population 165 males, 158 females, total 323
Church of St Bridget, Llansantfraed-in-Elvel on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1767-1930; Marriages 1813-1957; Burials 1767-1980; Banns 1824-1972
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Llansanffraid-yn-Elfael / Llansaintffraid-in-Elwell to another place.
You can see the administrative areas in which Llansanffraid-yn-Elfael / Llansaintffraid-in-Elwell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
Llansanffraed in Elwell with Bettws Disserth War Memorial - on the Roll of Honour site
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
Victorian Powys for schools site - Map of Llansantffraid-in-Elfael in 1837, also 1902
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO091552 (Lat/Lon: 52.187582, -3.331775), Llansanffraid-yn-Elfael / Llansaintffraid-in-Elwell which are provided by:
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online (Other old maps.)
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)