Hide
Pyllalai / Pilleth
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"PILLITH (PWLL-LLAITH), a parish in the hundred of KEVENLLEECE, county of RADNOR, SOUTH WALES, 3 3/4 miles (S. W.) from Knighton, containing 75 inhabitants. .......................... The parish is situated on the river Lug, and extends for about three miles in length, and one mile and a half in breadth : ................... The living is a vicarage not in charge, annexed to that of Llangunllo, in the archdeaconry of Brecknock, and diocese of St. David's, endowed with £ 800 royal bounty. The church, dedicated to St. Mary, .................. The poor children of this parish are entitled to gratuitous instruction in the school founded at Whitton, by Lady Child, of this parish, who endowed it with lands producing more than £ 100 per annum, and under the provisions of whose will one child of this parish is annually apprenticed. On a common in the northern part of the parish are a few scattered houses, forming a place called Hen dre'r Garreg, or " the old town of the rock." ................... The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor amounts to £5l. 12.........." ( A Topographical Dictionary of Wales, Samuel Lewis, 1833)
Hide
Adferiad Eglwys y Santes Fair Pilalau = Restoration of St. Mary's Church Pilleth. Pilleth : St. Mary's Church, [2002?]. 1 folded sheetBradney, Joseph A Pilleth, Nanty-groes and Monaughty Radnorshire Society Transactions, vol. 21 1951 Welsh Journals Online
Cyfeillion Pilalau = The friends of Pilleth. [Pilalau : Cyfeillion Pilalau, 2002]. 4p
Price, P D Price of Pilleth; four wills Radnorshire Society Transactions vol. 44 1974 Welsh Journals Online
Taylor, Richard. Pilleth : the battle . Llandrindod Wells : Powys County Council, 1978.
The battle of Pilleth : Owain Glyndwr & the struggle for Welsh independence = Brwydr Pilalai : Owain Glyndwr a'r frwydr dros annibyniaeth Cymru. Llandrindod Wells : Powys County Council, [2003?]. I folded sheet
Williams, Richard A sword and spurs in Pelleth Church Radnorshire Society Transactions Vol 25 1955 Welsh Journals Online
Wynn-Jones, Walford. A guide to the Church of Our Lady of Pilleth, Radnorshire, Powys. [Llangurig] : [Walford Wynn-Jones], 1989. 12p
Victorian Powys for schools site - Census figures for Pilleth parish 1841-1901
| St Mary, Pilleth |
Church and chapel data from The Religious census of 1851 : A Calendar of the returns relating to Wales, Vol 1, South Wales. Ed. by I.G Jones, & D. Williams. UWP, Cardiff, 1976. The names given towards the end of each entry are those of the informants. Pilleth Parish; Statistics; Area 1897 acres; Population 45 males, 47 females, total 92
|
Church of Our Lady of Pilleth on the Radnorshire Churches Survey site
Detailed information on deposited registers and transcripts for this parish is given on the Powys Archives page Radnorshire parish registers
As a guide only, the principal extant parochial church records for this parish span the dates shown below (as detailed in Parish Registers of Wales, NLW 2000) but exact current holdings should be confirmed with the individual Archives;
- Baptisms 1766, 1771-1811, 1813-1980; Marriages 1772-1812, 1814-1836, 1838-1887; Burials 1772-1811, 1816-1964
Parish Registers, or copies, for all or part of these dates are held at the NLW and/or Powys Archives.
Bishops Transcripts for various periods are held at the NLW
Other Sites Associated with Owain Glyndwr - Glyndyfrdwy and Pilleth on the Castle Wales site
Pilleth - on Wikipedia
- The transcription of the section for Pyllalai / Pilleth from the National Gazetteer (1868) provided by Colin Hinson.
- A Topographical Dictionary of Wales by Samuel Lewis, 1833
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Pyllalai / Pilleth to another place.
Pilleth - the Batle of Bryn Glas 1402
Save the Pilleth battlefield site - on BBC Wales
Kain, R.J.P., Oliver, R.R., Historic Parishes of England and Wales: an Electronic Map of Boundaries before 1850 with a Gazetteer and Metadata [computer file]. Colchester, Essex: History Data Service, UK Data Archive [distributor], 17 May 2001. SN: 4348. Here is a gazetteer/finding aid plus a set of overview maps to accurately identify the position of parishes within the county
Family Search have an interactive map called "England and Wales Jurisdictions 1851" showing parish (and other) boundaries with optional background maps such as Ordnance Survey. There is also a Search facility, do read the guidance notes to get maximum benefit from this useful resource. See here for further background information to assist in the interpretation of this data
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO260695 (Lat/Lon: 52.318995, -3.08733), Pyllalai / Pilleth which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- OpenStreetMap Cymru (Welsh counties only)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.
Details of extant records on Archives Network Wales for the following;
- Pilleth Parish and Community Council records 1894-1990