County Down

"Down, a county of Ireland, in Ulster, 42 m. long and 34 broad; bounded E by the Irish sea, W by Armagh, NW by Antrim, and S by Carlingford bay and the ocean; divided into 60 parishes, and sends 4 members to parliament. It is in general fertile; has numerous bleach-greens; and in the rough parts many horses are bred. Copper and lead are found; also a black marble susceptible of a high polish, slate, coal, freestone, and crystals. Pop. 329,348. Chief rivers, Lagan and Newry."
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]


Archives and Libraries


Description and Travel



The transcription for this county from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.



Online Resources:

Research Services:



From Fianna:

12 Miles of Mourne (annual), Mr. F. Hammond,
Mourne Local Studies Group, Kilkeel, Co. Down

Seanchas Dhroim Mor (annual), Very Reverend B. Treanor, P.P.
Parochial House, 141 Rathfriland Road, Dromara, Dromore, Co. Down

Saintfield Heritage,
Miss C. Cole 12 Thorndale Park Carryduff BELFAST BT8 8HZ

Ulster Folklife (annual),
The Ulster Folk Transport Museum, Cultra Manor, Holywood, Co. Down

Upper Ards Historical Society Journal (annual),
Mr. C. Murray, 57 Lisbane Road, Kircubbin, Co. Down