"Clare, a county of Ireland, province of Munster, 55 miles long and 38 broad; bounded on the W by the Atlantic, N by Galway, and E and S by the Shannon, which separates it from Tipperary, Limerick, and Kerry. It is divided into 79 parishes, has two market towns, and sends three members to parliament. It breeds more horses than any other county in Ireland, beside a great number of cattle and sheep. Pop. 209,595. Capital, Ennis."
[From The New London Gazetteer (1826)]
- Clare Heritage and Genealogical Centre
- The East Clare Heritage Centre does genealogy research for a large area of East County Clare and publish an annual Historical and genealogical Journal called Sliabh Aughty. They have also published histories of Scariff Tuamgraney and Mountshannon and are presently publishing a History of the O'Gray Clan.
- Clare County Archives - was established in 1999 and provides a service to researchers at home and abroad. It is a county-wide service and in addition to local authority records, it also collects other material relating to the county including private papers, solicitors papers, architectural drawings, maps and plans, estate papers, photographic collections, and records of academic, social, and economic institutions
- County Clare IGP Archives
- Guide to records deposited in the Public Record Office of Ireland
- The Clare Guild. Official Guide of County Clare, by D. Roche
- County Clare, A History and Topography. Reprinted by Clasp Press, 1995, from A History and Topography of County Clare which was originally published in 1837 as part of A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland.
- The Merchants of Ennis. By Seán Spellissy. Published 1996 for Ennis Chamber of Commerce by On Stream Publications Ltd., Cloghroe, Blarney, Co. Cork.
- The Ennis Compendium, From Royal Dún to Information Age Town. By Seán Spellissy. A combined history and business directory for Ennis and Clarecastle. Published 1998 by The Book Gallery, 68 Parnell Street, Ennis, Co. Clare.
- Families of County Clare. Volume III of the Book of Irish Families, great & small. By Michael C. O'Laughlin, 1996.
- Biographical Notices, printed in the Clare Champion newspaper, 1935-1985
- 1901 County Clare census index for assorted Poor Law Unions, over 10,000 entries transcribed by Ruth C. Hakala
- 1659 Pender Census by barony. Gives number of English and Irish living in each townland and principal Irish names in each barony. Edited by Seamus Pender in 1939.
- Ireland Census, 1901 at FamilySearch — index
- Ireland Census, 1911 at FamilySearch — index
- Civil Parishes, description of parish, townlands and map of each parish.
- The Church of Ireland, The archives of the Church of Ireland (Anglican), and particularly parochial registers of baptisms, marriages, and burials, are a primary source for genealogists and family historians. Although many registers were destroyed in the past, especially in the fire in the Public Record Office of Ireland in 1922, many others have survived in a number of custodies and are available to researchers.
- National Archive of Ireland research guide to Church of Ireland (Anglican) parish registers
- The Presbyterian Church in Ireland serves the whole island, both North and South and, with a total membership of some 300,000 people in over 560 congregations.
- Roman Catholic Parish Registers. A table by civil parish wish corresponding Catholic parishes and earliest date when records are available.
- RC parish records
- Church of Ireland Parish Registers. A table by parish with corresponding earliest dates when records are available, includes baptism, marriage and death records.
- The National Library of Ireland (in Dublin) holds many Catholic Parish Registers, including those from County Antrim. Many of these have been digitised by the National Library of Ireland and can be searched online here.
- Deaths in the Liscannor area, 1864-1870
- Lucas's Directory of Ennis (1788)
- Pigots Directory of Ennis (1824)
- Slaters Directory of Ennis (1846) (1856)
- Bassett's Directory of Ennis (1866)
- Burkes Irish Family Records
- Slaters Directory of Ennis, Ennistymon, Kilkee, Killaloe, Kilrush, Miltown Malbay, Newmarket on Fergus, Sixmilebridge & Cratlow, Tulla (1870)
- Guys Postal Directory of Munster (1886)
- Clare County Library have a detailed list of many genealogical records available, including: censuses, Griffith's Valuation, Tithe Applotment Books, school registers, trade directories and individual family histories.
- IreAtlas Townland Database Search Page
- Rootsweb mailing list
- ConnorsGenealogy with assorted records for County Clare and a look up service.
- From Ireland's Clare site offers graveyard inscriptions, church records, journals, surname studies, townland studies, etc.
- Methodist Historical Society of Ireland
- Presbyterian Historical Society of Ireland
- County Clare Origins of Heraldry by J.D. Williams
- The Ireland Land Valuation Office, The archive in the Valuation Office holds a list of occupiers of property for the 26 Counties in the Republic of Ireland. The records go back to 1846.
- Land Owners in Clare 1876
- List of Tenants on Colonel O'Callaghan's Estate, Bodyke, 1890s
- The Tithe Applotment Books, 1823-1838 list each landholder along with details such as townland, size of holding, land quality and type of crops for all of Ireland. They have been filmed by the LDS Family History Library and are arranged in the catalog under civil parishes. In 1831 a list was made of Tithe Defaulters.
- Griffith's Valuation Index 1855
- 1796 Irish Flax Growers for County Clare. Lists names and civil parish for those who grew an acre or more of flax.
- Join the County Clare mailing list devoted to those doing genealogical research in County Clare.
- Post a query into CousinConnect, it's free! You can edit and delete them at any time. You have total control, and total privacy.
- Surname Index, County Clare for all spellings of Cullinan(e)
- Surname Index, County Clare for all spellings of Fahy/Fahey
- From Fianna: Dal gCais (annual), Mr. G. Hughes, Glandine, Milltown, Malbay, Co. Clare
- The Other Clare (annual), Ms. R. Donovan, Shannon Archaeological and Historical Society, 5 Tullyglass Hill, Shannon,
Co. Clare ISSN 0332-088X
- Irish Families. ISSN 1056 0378
- The Old Limerick Journal
- The Clareman
- North Munster Antiquarian Society Journal
- Sliabh Aughyt. (East Clare Heritage Centre) ISSN 0791-4571
- Ireland, Information on the Irish State. This site will help you find government organizations or information by providing links, indices of recent publications and a search engine that searches all government sites.
- The National Statistics of the UK website contains a vast range of official UK statistics and information about statistics, which can be accessed and downloaded free.
- List of Poor Law Unions with link to each Union, scroll down to Munster for Co. Clare.
- Research guide from the National Archives of Ireland
- Indexes to Irish Wills, by Phillimore & Thrift. volume 3. (1653-1800 Diocese of Killaloe and Kilfenora. 1615-1800 for the Diocese of Limerick) 1909
- From the Family History Library:
- Index to Killaloe & Kilfenora administration bonds 1704-1857 (#100962)
- Index to Limerick administration bonds 1789-1855 (#100959)
- Index to the Prerogative Wills of Ireland 1536-1810. Sir Arthur Vicars. 1897. Dublin
- There is an exhaustive description of Ireland Probate Records on Familysearch.
- The General Register Office (Oifig An Ard-Chláraitheora) is the central repository for records relating to Births, Deaths and Marriages in the Republic of Ireland. It is concerned with civil registration matters only, and does not engage in genealogical research. Records of marriages other than Roman Catholic marriages date back to 1st April 1845. Records of Births, Deaths and Roman Catholic Marriages date to 1st January, 1864.
- UK National Archives, on line census, records, medieval seals, Macmillan on-line