United Kingdom and Ireland
Lyon-Turner, G. Original Records of Early
Nonconformity Under Persecution and Indulgence - 3 vols. T.
Fisher Unwin, London (1911) [Online copies: Vol 1,
- Two major marriage licence indexing projects: the Faculty
Office Marriage Licence Index (of licences issued by the Master of
Faculties of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the period 1714 to
1850), and the Vicar-General Marriage Licence Index (of licences
issued by the Vicar-General of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the
period 1701 to 1850 undertaken by the SoG are now on www.findmypast.co.uk.
- Free searches of parish registers are provided by FreeReg and FamilySearch.
- Commercial sites include Ancestry, TheGenealogist, www.findmypast.co.uk, FamilyRelatives and Origins.net.
marriages - article by Jennifer M. Payne.
- M.W. Foster. "A Comedy of Errors" or "The Marriage
Records of England and Wales, 1837-1899", 19 Khouri Avenue,
Wellington 6005, New Zealand, Michael W. Foster
(1998) 223 p. [ISBN 0 473 05581 3]
- The Parish Register
Transcription Society - "formed in April 1999, with the aim of
publishing transcripts of Parish Registers and other manuscripts /
records of use to researchers in family history".
Breed, Geoffrey. My Ancestors were Baptists (4th
ed.). Society of Genealogists (2002) 135 pp. [ISBN:
[". . . a history of the church plus valuable information on what
records can be obtained. A complete listing of all Baptist churches
and dates by county and appendices showing for instance the
important collection in Dr Williams Library.."]
Clifford, David J.H. My ancestors were
Congregationalists in England and Wales: how can I find out more
about them?, Society of Genealogists (1997) 77 pp. [ISBN:
["Following a useful introduction this book comprises a location
list by county of Independent and Congregationalist registers to
1850. Many exist outside the Public Record Office. Details of
chapels where no registers have been located are also
Randolph Vigne. Huguenot Family Research Made Easier,
Genealogist's Magazine 27, 10 (June 2003) pp.
Oates, P.J. My Ancestors Were Inghamites,
Society of Genealogists (2003) 149 pp. [ISBN 1 903462 77 0]
["Includes a brief history of the Inghamites, sections on chapels
and their records, index of people referred to in the conference
books of the Inghamites Societies, various baptism and lists of
Joseph, Austen. My Ancestors were Jewish (3rd
ed.), Society of Genealogists (2002) 60 pp. [ISBN:
["Covers the emancipation of Jews in Europe, marriage, death and
burials, census, secular records, surname information, information
on repositories, internet and more."]
Leary, William. My Ancestors were Methodists (3rd
ed.), Society of Genealogists (1997) 116 pp. [ISBN:
["The main text [of this 3rd edition] has not changed but the
appendixes detailing holdings in the SoG have been revised and
updated thoroughly. The book explains the records of Methodism and
what to expect from these records."]
Return to top of page
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
|Note: The information provided by GENUKI must not be
used for commercial purposes, and all specific restrictions
concerning usage, copyright notices, etc., that are to be found on
individual information pages within GENUKI must be strictly adhered
to. Violation of these rules could gravely harm the cooperation
that GENUKI is obtaining from many information providers, and hence
threaten its whole future.
[Last updated: 21
Aug 2014 - Brian Randell]
Hosted by Mythic Beasts Ltd.