Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Braunton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Braunton

"BRAUNTON, the large ancient village which gives name to this Hundred and Petty Sessional Division, is situated on the banks of a rivulet about 2 miles from the sea coast and the Taw estuary, and 5 miles W.N.W. of Barnstaple. Its extensive parish contains 2274 inhabitants, and 9951 acres of land, extending to the sea coast and the estuary of the Taw, and including the scattered hamlets of Saunton, Lobb, Nethercott, Knoll, Winsham, Halsinger, Pipppacot, and Boode. Near the sea is a large tract of land covered with sand, called Braunton Borrow, abounding in rabbits and having two lighthouses for the security of mariners navigating the Bristol Channel, or crossing Barnstaple bar. The principal manors in the parish, and their owners are, Braunton Abbots, the Earl of Devon; Braunton Arundell and Gorges, A.D. Bassett, Esq.; Bere Charters, Sir B.P. Wrey; Buckland, C.H. Webber, Esq., of Buckland House; and Saunton, the heirs of the late Col. Cleveland; but a great part of the parish belongs to the Executors of the late Lord Rolle, the Dean and Chapter of Exeter, Richard Dyer, Esq., and several smaller owners. Braunton was an ancient demense of the Crown, and was given by Richard I. to Odo, ancestor of the Carews. Henry III. gave two-thirds of it to Clive Abbey, in Somersetshire. In the reign of Chas. I. it belonged to Sir Richard Reynell, from whom it passed to the Courtenays. The Church (St. Brannock,) is a large antique structure, remarkable for having no pillars. Its tower contains six bells, and is crowned by a spire." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Braunton Hundred, under the Peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of Exeter.

topup

Archives and Libraries

Information about the Braunton & District Museum can be found at the Devon Museums web-site.

topup

Biography

Bouquet, Michael. The papers of a north Devon mariner. Devon Historian 16, (1978) pp.7-13: ill. [Thomas Arthur Slee, 1890-1970]
Hems, Harry. Stanzas on the death of the noted Slack, Butcher and stage boxer. Devon Notes & Queries vol. I, pt. III (1900) p. 54. [Transcript]
Wilson, Terry. Upsettery and Harbour Grace, Devon Family Historian, vol. 133, (2010) p.11. [John Gorvin, b. 1820, Braunton]
topup

Cemeteries

MIs for Braunton Congregational Chapel are included in the Devon FHS index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Palmer, Mervyn G. (ed.) A Diarist in Devon, Part 3. Trans. Devon Assoc. 77 (1945) pp.199-223. [Includes MIs.]

topup

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1841, 1861, 1871 and 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Braunton area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Braunton - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Chanter, J.F., The Church of St. Brannock, Braunton. James Townsend, Exeter (1908).
Owen, T.R., St. Brannock's Church, Braunton. [SoG Library]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Transcripts of the Parish Registers going back to 1538 are held in a special collection in the Westcountry Studies Library.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Baptisms 1813-1839, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Congregational Chapel, East Street: Registers for 1816-37 (ZC) in PRO RG 4/2402; 1807-1846 (C), 1833-37 (B) at NDRO
  • Wesleyan Chapel, Hill's View: Registers for c1807-37 see Barnstaple Circuit (PRO RG 4/954); 1911-85 (C), 1930-85 (M), 1911-90 (B) at NDRO

Entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993): Parish Church Christenings 1538-1812 and Marriages 1538-1812, Braunton Independent Chapel Christenings 1808-1837

Brock, Bob and Ann. From Cradle to Grave 1850-1919: ... Braunton births, marriages and deaths from the 'North Devon Journal' (5 vols.) Braunton Museum, The Bakehouse Centre, Caen Street, Braunton, N. Devon EX33 1AA (2000?) [Devon FHS Library - p 929.34235] [Vol. 1 1850-74, vol. 2 1876-99, vol. 3 1900-09, vol. 4 1910-14, vol. 5 1915-19]
Brock, Bob and Ann. From Cradle to Grave 1850-1919: ... Braunton births, marriages and deaths from the 'North Devon Journal' (Vol 6: 1920-1924) Braunton Museum, The Bakehouse Centre, Caen Street, Braunton, N. Devon EX33 1AA (2002?) 72p.
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Arlington, Ashford, Berrynarbor, Bittadon, Bratton Fleming, Braunton, Brendon, Challacombe, Charles, Combe Martin, Countisbury, East Buckland, East Down, Georgeham, Goodleigh, Heanton Punchardon, High Bray, Ilfracombe, Kentisbury, Loxhore, Lynton, Martinhoe, Marwood, Mortehoe, Parracombe, Shirwell, Stoke Rivers, Trentishoe, West Buckland and West Down. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850) and Kelly's Directory of Devonshire (1902), CD-ROM, Exeter, Devon FHS (2015). [Arlington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1814-1837; Ashford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1747-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Berrynarbor Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Bittadon Bapt: 1813-1843, Mar: 1754-1835, Bur: 1815-1843; Bratton Fleming Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Braunton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brendon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Challacombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1822-1848; Charles Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Combe Martin Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Countisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1755-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; East Buckland Bapt: 1813-1838, Mar: 1755-1836, Bur: 1813-1839; East Down Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1852; Georgeham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Goodleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Heanton Punchardon Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; High Bray Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Ilfracombe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Kentisbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1841, Bur: 1813-1837; Loxhore Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Lynton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Martinhoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Marwood Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Mortehoe Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1837; Parracombe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1598-1838, Bur: 1813-1838; Shirwell Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Stoke Rivers Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Trentishoe Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; West Buckland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1851; West Down Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1840.]
topup

Court Records

Register of Freeholders - Braunton, Cliston, & Coleridge c1816, Exeter, Devon Family History Society, (Booklet & PDF D126). [Foreword]
topup

Description and Travel

Braunton.net Community Portal.

Section on Braunton  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

Bowen, David. Portrait of a village - Braunton. Devon Life vol. 5 no. 32, (1968) pp.22-26; ill.
Davis, Bob. Picture postcard Braunton - 2nd rev ed. Swimbridge: Robert Young (1993) 80p: chiefly ill.

You can see pictures of Braunton which are provided by:

topup

Directories

Transcript of complete entry in White's Devonshire Directory of 1850.

topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Braunton to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Lobb, D.H.V. Lobbery - 20,000 Lobbs Around the World. (2 vols.) Douglas V. Lobb, Moresk House, Truro, Cornwall (1997) 80, 144p. [ISBN 09520019-0-X]
Kelly, Mary. The Langdon family of Georgeham, Braunton, Northam and Heanton Punchardon, North Devon, England, Moggill, Queensland, M. Kelly (1994?) 1 vol: ill, maps. [Westcountry Studies Library px929.2/LAN]
Kelly, Mary. The Dyer family of Braunton, Devon, England, who farmed Ash Barton, Luscott and Fairlinch. Moggill, Queensland: M. Kelly [1997] 1 vol: ill, maps, gen tab. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.2/DYE]
Long, Gwyn. The Lobb Family and Their Saxon Origins and History, Devon Family Historian, vol. 141, (2012) pp.29-32.
Roberts, John. A note on the family of Wyatt of Braunton, Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 29, 1962-64, pp. 282-85. [16th c.]
topup

Heraldry

Tomkins, H A C. Arms of the Family of Manningford. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 9:2, (1916) p. 54. [Index]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Braunton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Ellacott, Samuel E. Here is Braunton. South Molton: Quest (Western) (1979) 102p: ill, map. [ISBN 090529713x]
Gaydon, Tina. Braunton. Badger Books (1989) 125p. [ISBN 0946-290-20-2]
Hoskins, W.G. and H.P.R. Finberg. Devonshire Studies, London, Jonathan Cape (1952) 470 pp.(See pp. 265-271.)
Reichel, O.J. The Hundreds of Braunton, Shirwell and Fremington in Early Times, Trans. Devonshire Association, Extra volume, (1935) 136pp.
Slee, Arthur H. Victorian days in a Devon village. Braunton: A.H.Slee (1966) 68p,plates: ill. [Extracts and Name Index by John Lerwill.]
topup

Land and Property

Elliot, John. Homes and gardens - Buckland, Braunton. Devon Life vol. 10 no. 84 (1973) pp.22-23; ill.
topup

Manors

Dymond, R. The Customs of the Manor of Braunton. Trans. Devon Assoc. 20 (1888), pp. 254-303. [Raymond: Includes names of tenants, 16th-18th c.] [Index]
Slee, A.H. Braunton: and its manor. Trans. Devon. Assoc. 73, (1941) pp.195-201.
topup
topup

Merchant Marine

List of seamen born in the Braunton area (from PRO BT98 records of Barnstaple & Bideford sailings, 1840 and 1845.

Ellacott, Samuel E. Braunton ships and seamen. South Molton: Quest Publs (1980) 72p: ill, map.
topup

Probate Records

Will of Robert Gamon (1855), transcribed by Christine Stables.

Transcript of the will of Richard Allen (1562), provided by Kathleen Noye.