Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Brushford

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Brushford

"BRUSHFORD, a small parish in the Taw valley, 5 miles S. by W. of Chulmleigh, has only 144 souls, and about 1000 acres of land, nearly all the property, and in the occupation of the Luxton family, to whom it has belonged since the reign of Elizabeth, previous to which the manor and tithes belonged to Hartland Abbey. The Church (St. Mary,) is a small structure, with a tower and three bells. George Luxton, Esq., is impropiator of the tithes and patron of the perpetual curacy, valued at £51, and now held by the Rev. John Luxton, B.A." [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A Parish in North Tawton Hundred, the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple and the the Diocese of Exeter.

Census

Snetzler, M.F. North Devon Surname Index to the Census. Microfiche: M.F. Snetzler, Barcott, Buckland Brewer, Bideford, Devon EX39 5LN. [Covers 1881 census records for this parish]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Brushford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

Brushford - from J. Stabb. Some Old Devon Churches (London: 1908-16).

Church Records

The registers (christenings 1695-1812, marriages 1697-1838, and burials 1694-1812) are at the Devon Record Office.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of June 2004): Marriages 1754-1837 - for details see their book list.

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Chanter, J.F. Irregular Marriages at Brushford. Devon & Cornwall Notes & Queries 10 (1918-19) pp.285-286.
An index of baptisms, marriages and burials in the parishes of Bondleigh, Bow, Brushford, Burrington, Chawleigh, Chulmleigh, Clannaborough, Coleridge, Eggesford, Lapford, North Tawton, Nymet Rowland, Wembworthy and Zeal Monachorum. With photographs of the churches and extracts from White's Directory (1850). CD-ROM 063, Exeter, Devon FHS (2014). [Bondleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Bow Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Brushford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Burrington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chawleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chulmleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Clannaborough Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1759-1834, Bur: 1697-1836; Coleridge Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Eggesford Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1750-1838; Lapford Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1567-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; North Tawton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Nymet Rowland Bapt: 1813-1841, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1734-1879; Wembworthy Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1733-1837, Bur: 1813-1839; Zeal Monachorum Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837]

Description and Travel

Section on Brushford from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Brushford which are provided by:

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Genealogy

The Online Parish Clerk scheme's representative for this parish is Pamela Abikhair, who invites queries and lookup requests. (Resources: PRs on fiche.)

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Brushford has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Brushford to another place.

History

Oliver, Mrs. Brice. Notes on Brushford. Trans. Devon Assoc. 89 (1957) pp. 153- 159.
Williams, H. Fulford. Notes on the Parish of Brushford, Devon. Typescript (1949) 6 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library]