Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Shute

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Shute

"SHUTE parish contains 683 souls, 2738 acres of land, several scattered houses, and the village of WHITFORD, a mile S. of the church, and 1½ mile N.E. of Colyton. Sir J.G.R. De la Pole, Bart,, is lord of the manor, and resides at SHUTE PARK, which is extensive and stocked with deer, and has a large and handsome mansion, . . . The manor of Shute was anciently held by a family of its own name, and afterwards by the Pynes, Bonvilles, and Greys. It was purchased of Lord Petre, in 1787, by Sir J.W. Pole. . . . Sir Wm. Pole, the learned antiquary, settled it on his eldest son in 1628, during his father's life-time; it has ever since been the seat of the family. The Church (St. Michael,) is an ancient cruciform structure, with a tower rising from the centre, and containing five bells. It has several handsome monuments of the Poles, one of which has a fine marble statue of Sir Wm. Pole in full dress, as master of Queen Anne's household. The benefice is a curacy consolidated with the vicarage of Colyton. . . . " [From White's Devonshire Directory (1850)]

A parish in Colyton Hundred, under the Peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter. St Mary at the Cross, Whitford, is a modern chapel of ease (1908). (See also Colyton.)

topup

Cemeteries

MIs for this parish are included in the Incledon index - see under Cemeteries on the main Devon page.

Matthews, A.W. Ye Old Mortality. vol. 8 (1909) pp. 868-893. [MS, Society of Genealogists]
Pulman, George P.R. The Book of the Axe. Bath: Kingsmead Reprints (1969) pp. 868-893. (Reprint of 3rd edition, 1875.) [Lookups]

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Shute area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Jewers, Arthur J. The Churches of Colyton and Shute, and the Pole Monuments There, Trans. Devon. Assoc., vol. 33 (1901) pp. 714-741. [Index]
A Brief History of St Michael's: The parish church of Shute. [SOG Library: DE Tracts Box]
topup

Church Records

Parish Registers going back to 1561 are held in the Devon Record Office.

Here is summary information regarding surname occurrences on Shute Baptisms (1770-1901), Burials (1790-1939). and Marriages (1800-1899) from Duncan Weir, who provides a very useful Shute Parish Records lookup service.

The Devon FHS publishes indexes covering (as of April 2010): Baptisms 1813-1840, Marriages 1754-1837, Burials 1813-1837 - for details see their book list.

Other churches and chapels (with pre-1840 records):

  • Whitford Wesleyan Chapel: Registers for c1808-27 - see Tavistock (PRO RG 4/341)

Nothing entered into the IGI (as of Jan 1993).

Sellman, R.R. Shute, Devon: edited transcript of the parish registers to 1837. Photocopy of transcript (1978) 120p. [Westcountry Studies Library - f929.3/SHU/1561]
Sellman, R.R. Family reconstitutions from the parish registers of Shute, Devon to 1837. Typescript (1988) 81p. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.3/SHU/1561]
The Deanery of Honiton: CD-ROM CD041, Exeter, Devon FHS (2013). [Axminster Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Axmouth Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1603-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Chardstock Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Colyton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1538-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Combpyne Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1757-1836, Bur: 1796-1847; Cotleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Dalwood Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Farway Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Gittisham Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1800-1837; Hawkchurch Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1838; Honiton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Honiton Ind, Bur: 1774-1837; Kilmington Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Membury Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Monkton Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1814-1842; Musbury Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Northleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1836, Bur: 1813-1837; Offwell Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Seaton & Beer Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1839, Bur: 1813-1837; Shute Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Southleigh Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1756-1837, Bur: 1800-1837; Stockland Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1640-1837, Bur: 1813-1837; Thorncombe Bapt: 1813-1837, Mar: 1754-1837, Bur: 1813-1841; Uplyme Bapt: 1813-1839, Mar: 1754-1838, Bur: 1813-1837; Wambrook Bapt: 1813-1904, Mar: 1754-1836; Widworthy Bapt: 1813-1840, Mar: 1754-1954, Bur: 1790-1837.]
topup

Description and Travel

Section on Shute  from Samuel Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1831), provided by Mel Lockie.

You can see pictures of Shute which are provided by:

topup

Emigration and Immigration

Davey, F.A., Watts, S.G. Westward Look: Devon Pioneers and Pilgrims in the New World. Town & Country Press Ltd., 42 Rectory Lane, Bracknell, Berks. (1970) 56p. ["Elizabeth and William Poole [of Shute]" - pp.23-24]
topup

Gazetteers

The transcription of the section for this parish from the National Gazetteer (1868), provided by Colin Hinson.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Shute to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

Bridie, M.F. The story of Shute: the Bonvilles and Poles. Axminster: Shute School (1955) [10], 185p, plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - 728.83/SHU/BRI]
D., J. Documents relating to the estate of Sir William Bonville, of Shute, Co. Devon, temp Edw, III, Collectanea topographica et genealogica 8, 1843, pp. 237-47. [Raymond: Includes deeds and his 1407 will.]
Phillimore, W.P.W. Some account of the family of Smith anciently of Shute in Devonshire. London: Phillimore (1900) viii, 32p, 4 of pls: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - sx929.2/SMI] [Full text]
topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Shute has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Pulman, George P.R. The Book of the Axe. Bath: Kingsmead Reprints (1969) pp. 753 et seq. (Reprint of 3rd edition, 1875.) [Lookups]
Stirling, D.McNee. The beauties of Shute: containing copious illustrations of the antiquities, topography and scenery of that interesting parish. (1834) 24p. [Westcountry Studies Library - B/SHU/0001/STI]
Shute historical pageant, compiled and presented by the pupils of Shute School. Shute: Shute School (1936) 9p. [Westcountry Studies Library - pB/SHU/0001/SHU]
topup

Manors

The records of Shute and Whitford manors are held at DRO - references 123M/L1006 (1555) to 123M/L1174 (1726) - see details in the National Archives catalogue (advanced search), limiting your search to http://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/advanced-search.

Bridie, M.F. The story of Shute: the Bonvilles and Poles. Axminster: Shute School (1955) [10], 185p, plates: ill. [Westcountry Studies Library - 728.83/SHU/BRI]
Reichel, Oswald J. Notes on the manor of Shute and a sermon preached in Shute church in which are embodied notes on the history of the church. Manuscript [1900?] 4, 9 leaves. [Westcountry Studies Library - sB/SHU/0001/REI]
topup
topup

Probate Records

Transcription of the PCC will of Robert Hewett (1640) by Diane Harris.

Abstract of the PCC will of Richard Downing (1703), provided by Jean E. Harris.

Smith, Samuel Anderson. Extracts from Wills, proved P. C. C., relating to pshs. of Shute and Colyton, Co. Devon. pp. 39. George Pulman & Sons: London, [1901.] 8o. BL 9906.b.24.(7.) [Listing]
topup

Taxation

Hoskins, W.G. Extracts from the lay subsidy rolls...for the parishes of Luppitt [1591, 1660], Cotleigh [1660], Monkton [1660], Shute [1660], Northleigh [1660], Farway [1660] and lists of the inhabitants of the precinct of Bradninch in Exeter, 1708, 1732, 1752, Manuscript (1935). [D&CRS Library, Exeter: P1660]