Allerton

Select map to view larger area
ALLERTON, a township, with a r. station, in Childwall parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles SE of Liverpool. Acres, 1,531. Real property, 8,361. Pop., 559. Houses, 94. Here are Allerton Hall, Allerton Priory, the famous Allerton oak, and the ancient monument of Calderstone, supposed to be druidical. Allerton Hall was at one time the seat of Mr. Roscoe, anthor of the "Life of Lorenzo de Medici."

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Allerton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Allerton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Allerton area is Liverpool.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Allerton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Allerton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Allerton was a township in the parish of Childwall.

Maps

View maps of Allerton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ414860 (Lat/Lon: 53.367592, -2.882159), Allerton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Allerton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.