Anderton
|
|
|
|
ANDERTON, a township in Standish parish, Lancashire; under Rivington Pike, near the Bolton railway and the Manchester and Leeds canal, 3¼ miles SE of Chorley. Acres, 1,175. Real property, £2,241. Pop., 243. Houses, 47.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.Cemeteries
- St Joseph, Bolton Rd, Roman Catholic, Anderton
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Anderton.Church History
Church Records
- St Joseph, Bolton Rd, Roman Catholic, Anderton
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Anderton area is Chorley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures in an area centred on OS grid reference SD611134 (Lat/Lon: 53.615465, -2.588098) which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Anderton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Anderton was a township in the parish of Standish.Maps
View maps of Anderton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD611134 (Lat/Lon: 53.615465, -2.588098), which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Anderton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

