Bolton
|
|
|
|
BOLTON-LE-MOORS, a parish in the districts of Bolton, Wigan, and Chorley, Lancashire. It centres in the Post Town of Bolton; and contains the townships of Great Bolton, Little Bolton, Sharples, Quarlton, Edgeworth, Entwistle, Longworth, Turton, Bradshaw, Haulgh, Tonge, Breightmet, Harwood, Lostock, Darcy-Lever, Blackrod, Anglezarke, and Rivington, and the chapelry of Little Lever. Acres, 30,062. Real property, £332,547; of which £29,356 are in mines, and £1,969 in quarries. Pop. in 1841, 73,905; in 1861, 97,215. Houses, 18,385. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £350.* Patron, the Bishop of Manchester. The vicarages of Holy Trinity, St. George, Christ Church, and St. John, and the p. curacies of All Saints, Emmanuel, St. Mark, and St. Paul, within the borough of Bolton, are separate benefices. Value of Holy Trinity, St. George, Christ Church, and St. John, each £300; of Emmanuel, £300;* of St. Mark, £160; of St. Paul, £150; of All Saints, £128. Patron of H. T., the Bishop of Manchester; of St. G. and E., the Vicar of Bolton; and of St. J., alternately the Crown and the Bishop; of A. S., T. Tipping, Esq.; of St. M. and St. P., Trustees. The vicarages of Astley-Bridge, Belmont, Blackrod, Bradshaw, Little Lever, and Lever Bridge, and the p. curacies of Harwood, Rivington, Tonge, Turton, and Walmsley also are separate benefices. See the articles on these places and Bolton.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local Studies,Central Library,
Le Mans Crescent,
BOLTON BL1 ISE
Tel: 01204 332185 Fax: 01204 363224
Bibliography
The following books contain useful information about the history of Bolton and the surrounding area.Cemeteries
- Moor Lane, Baptist
- All Saints, Bank St, Church of England
- Christ Church, Deane Rd formerly Blackburn St, Church of England
- Emmanuel, Cannon St, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Trinity St, Church of England
- St George, St George's Road, Church of England
- St John, Latimer St, Church of England
- St Matthew, Mount St, Church of England
- St Paul, Deansgate, Church of England
- St Peter, Churchgate, Church of England
- Bethel, Clarence St, Evangelical
- Albert Place, Independent
- Folds Rd, Independent Methodist
- St Peter and St Paul, Pilkington Street, Roman Catholic
- Tipping St, Society of Friends
- Cemetery, Society of Friends
- Bank St, Unitarian
- Moor Lane, Unitarian
- Ridgeway Gates, Wesleyan Methodist
- St George's Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Hanover St, Wesleyan Refuge
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bolton.Church History
Church Records
- Claremont, St George's Rd,
- Our Lady and St Edward, Blackburn Rd, Anglican Catholic Church
- Bradford St, Baptist
- Moor Lane, Baptist
- Old Road / Derbyshire Row, Baptist
- Central Baptist, Snowden St, Baptist
- Claremont, St George's Rd, Baptist
- Zion, St John Street / Thwaites Street, Baptist
- The Grace Centre, Somerset Rd, Bolton Family Church
- Thomas Holden St, Catholic Apostolic
- First Church of Christ, Scientist, Bromwich St, Christian Science
- All Saints, Bank St, Church of England
- All Souls, Astley St, Church of England
- Christ Church, Deane Rd formerly Blackburn St, Church of England
- Emmanuel, Cannon St, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Trinity St, Church of England
- Smithills Hall Chapel, Smithills Dean Road, Church of England
- St Barnabas, Thomas Holden St, Church of England
- St Bede, Normanby Street, Church of England
- St George, St George's Road, Church of England
- St James the Apostle, Waterloo St, Church of England
- St John, Latimer St, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Brodick Drive, Church of England
- St Mark, Fletcher St, Church of England
- St Matthew, Brownlow Way, Church of England
- St Matthew, Mount St, Church of England
- St Paul, Deansgate, Church of England
- St Paul with Emmanuel, Vicarage St, Church of England
- St Peter, Churchgate, Church of England
- St Philip, Swan Lane, Church of England
- St Simon and St Jude, Rishton Lane, Church of England
- The Saviour, Deane Rd, Church of England
- Yarrow Place, Brownlow Fold, Church of the Nazarene
- Holiness Tabernacle, Southend Street, Church of the Nazarene
- Ashworth Lane, Congregational, Bank Top
- Blackburn Rd, Congregational
- Bradford Rd, Rose Hill, Congregational
- Derby St, Congregational
- Bethel, Clarence St, Evangelical
- Mayor Street, Hebron Christian Church
- Albert Place, Independent
- Dukes Alley, Independent
- Mawdsley St, Independent
- St George's Rd, Independent
- Chalfont St, Independent Methodist
- Folds Rd, Independent Methodist
- High St, Independent Methodist
- Noble St, Independent Methodist
- Kingdom Hall, Jethro Street, Jehovah's Witness
- Kingdom Hall, Moss Bank Way / Chorley Old Road, Jehovah's Witness
- Kingdom Hall, Noble St, Jehovah's Witness
- Spa Road, Jewish
- Wentworth Street, Jewish
- Gaskell St, Latter Day Saints
- Alder Street, Methodist
- St. Helens Road, Methodist
- Zion, St. Helens Road / Earnshaw St, Methodist
- Brownlow Fold, Methodist New Connexion
- Ebenezer, St George's Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Jamia Alavia Mosque, Bromwich St, Muslim
- Higher Bridge St (formerl Bury St), New Jerusalem
- Queen Street Mission, Central Mission Hall, Central St, Nonconformist
- Crawford Street, Pentecostal
- Somerset Road, Presbyterian
- St Andrew, Bowker's Row, Presbyterian
- Folds Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Higher Bridge St, Primitive Methodist
- Moor Lane, Primitive Methodist
- York Street, Primitive Methodist
- St Edmund, St Edmund's St, Roman Catholic
- St James the Great, Bowland Drive, Roman Catholic
- St Mary of the Assumption, Palace St, Roman Catholic
- St Patrick, Great Moor Street, Roman Catholic
- St Peter and St Paul, Pilkington Street, Roman Catholic
- The Good Shepherd, High Street, Roman Catholic (Polish)
- Aldred Street, Salvation Army
- Great Moor Street, Salvation Army
- Deane Rd, Seventh Day Adventist
- Deane Rd, Shree Swaminaravan Mandir
- Acres Field, Society of Friends
- Silverwell Street, Society of Friends
- Tipping St, Society of Friends
- Cemetery, Society of Friends
- Bradford St, Spiritualist
- Dorset St, Haulgh, Strict Baptist
- All Saints, All Saints St, Ukrainian Roman Catholic
- Bank St, Unitarian
- Chorley New Rd, Unitarian
- Deane Rd, Unitarian
- Halliwell Rd, Unitarian
- Moor Lane, Unitarian
- Unity, Commission St, Unitarian
- Clarence St, United Methodist Free Church
- Folds Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Peace Street, United Methodist Free Church
- Salisbury St, United Methodist Free Church
- Victoria St, United Methodist Free Church
- Hanover, Gilnow Road / Park Road, United Methodist Free Church
- Clarence St, Welsh Presbyterian
- Dukes Alley, Welsh Tabernacle
- Cable St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Castle Street / Bradford Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Chorley Old Rd, Delph Hill, Wesleyan Methodist
- Draycott St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Fern St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Fletcher St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Halliwell Road / Stewart Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Park St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Raphael Street / Wordsworth Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Ridgeway Gates, Wesleyan Methodist
- St George's Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Slater Field, Platt Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- The Kings Hall, Bradshawgate, Wesleyan Methodist
- Victoria Hall, Knowsley Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Hanover St, Wesleyan Refuge
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bolton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
A considerable number of church records have been published by the Bolton branch of the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Bolton area is Bolton.Description and Travel
Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council provide a range of information about the town.The Bolton website has a range of pictures and information about the town.
You can see pictures of Bolton which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bolton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Bolton contained the townships of Great Bolton, Blackrod, Lostock, Anglezarke, Rivington, Sharples, Longworth, Turton, Bradshaw, Entwistle, Edgworth, Quarlton, Harwood, Musbury, Breightmet, Little Bolton, Tonge and Haulge, Darcy Lever and Little Lever.History
The history of Bolton from Pigot's Lancashire directory, 1830.Some more information about the history of Bolton.
A description of Bolton in the 19th century.
Maps
View maps of Bolton and places within its boundaries. You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD717091 (Lat/Lon: 53.577720, -2.428895), Bolton which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Bolton workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bolton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
Bolton and District Family History Society, is a branch of the Manchester & Lancashire FHS.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

