Borwick

Select map to view larger area
BORWICK, a township, with a r. station, in Warton parish, Lancashire; on the Furness and Midland railway, near the Northwestern, 3 miles NNE of Carnforth. Acres, 836. Real property, 1,765. Pop., 194. Houses, 35. Borwick Hall, the seat of the Standishes, gave lodging to Charles II. on his way to Worcester.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Borwick.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Borwick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Borwick area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Borwick which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Borwick to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Borwick was a township in the parish of Warton.

Maps

View maps of Borwick and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD526730 (Lat/Lon: 54.150629, -2.727237), Borwick which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Borwick was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.