Chorlton on Medlock

Select map to view larger area
CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK, a township, five chapelries, and a sub-district in Chorlton district, Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township lies within Manchester borough, and includes the south-eastern part of Manchester city. Acres, 700. Real property, 178,750. Pop., in 1841, 28,336; in 1861, 44,795. Houses, 8,584. The chapelries are All Saints, St. Luke, St. Saviour, St. Stephen, and St. Paul, and all are rectories in the diocese of Manchester. Value of All Saints, 488; of St. Luke, 300;* of St. Saviour, 543;* of St. Stephen, 356;* of St. Paul, 248.* Patrons of All Saints, the Representatives of the Rev. Dr. Burton; of St. Luke, the Repr. of R. Gardner, Esq.; of St. Saviour, the Rev. E. Birch; of St. Stephen and St. Paul, Trustees. All Saints church was built in 1820, and has a tower and dome. St. Luke's was built in 1865, and is in the decorated English style. St. Paul's was built in 1862, and is in the later English style. An Armenian church, the earliest in England, was founded in Sept., 1869. A free library was built in 1866, at a cost of 4,000; and had 6,000 volumes at its opening. A medical hospital was built in 1865. Land for a public park was purchased in 1868. The sub-d. is contaminate with the township.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Chorlton on Medlock.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Chorlton on Medlock area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Chorlton on Medlock area is Manchester.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Chorlton on Medlock which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Chorlton on Medlock to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Chorlton on Medlock was a township in the parish of Manchester.

History

A description of Chorlton on Medlock in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Chorlton on Medlock and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ843969 (Lat/Lon: 53.468592, -2.237983), Chorlton on Medlock which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Chorlton workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Chorlton on Medlock was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.