Cliviger

Select map to view larger area
CLIVIGER, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the Rose-Grove and Todmorden railway, near the source of the river Iswell, 3½ miles SE by S of Burnley. Acres, 6,160. Real property, 14,950; of which 7,870 are in mines, and 179 in quarries. Pop., 1,770. Houses, 346. The surface is hilly; the rocks include coal, iron ore, and lead ore; and the national productions include rare plants and rare birds of prey.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Burnley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Cliviger.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Higher Cliviger area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Cliviger area is Burnley and Pendle.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Higher Cliviger which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Cliviger to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Cliviger was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Higher Cliviger and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD867308 (Lat/Lon: 53.773364, -2.203288), Higher Cliviger which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Cliviger was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.