Droylsden
|
|
|
|
DROYLSDEN, a township-chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire; on the Rochdale canal and the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 4 miles E of Manchester. It includes the hamlet of Little Droylsden, and the villages of Fairfield and Clayton; and it has a station on the railway, and a post office under Manchester. Acres, 1,611. Real property, £25,121. Pop., 8,798. Houses, 1,718. The property is subdivided. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton factories. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £130. Patron, alternately the Crown and the Bishop. The church was built in 1848; an Independent chapel, in 1860; a Wesleyan chapel, in 1866; and there are Moravian and P. Methodist chapels, and British schools.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Tameside local studies library.Cemeteries
- Manor Rd, Cemetery
- St Cross, Ashton New Road, Church of England, Clayton
- St Mary, Market Street, Church of England
- Fairfield Square, Moravian, Fairfield
- Trinity, Market St, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Droylesden.Church History
Church Records
- World Harvest, Seymour Rd South, Christian Centre, Clayton
- St Cross, Ashton New Road, Church of England, Clayton
- St Cuthbert, Berry Brow, Church of England, Clayton
- St Andrew, Edge Lane, Church of England
- St John, Moorside Street, Church of England
- St Martin, Greenside Lane, Church of England
- St Mary, Market Street, Church of England
- Seymour Rd South, Congregational, Clayton
- Fairfield Road, Congregational
- Ashton Hill Lane, Independent
- Carver Hall, Bamford St, Manchester City Mission, Clayton
- Trinity, Dunkirk St, Methodist
- Fairfield Square, Moravian, Fairfield
- Bethel, Ashton New Road, Primitive Methodist, Clayton
- Market St, Primitive Methodist
- St Willibrord, North Road, Roman Catholic, Clayton
- St Stephen, Chappell Road, Roman Catholic
- Greenside Lane, SalvationArmy
- North Road, United Methodist Free Church, Clayton
- Edge Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Moorside Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Trinity, Manchester Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- Trinity, Market St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Droylsden area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Droylsden area is Tameside.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Droylesden which are provided by:
Directories
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Droylsden to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Droylsden was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Droylsden in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Droylesden and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ904981 (Lat/Lon: 53.479526, -2.146128), Droylesden which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Military Records
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Droylsden was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
The Manchester & Lancashire FHS.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

