Eccles
|
|
|
|
ECCLES, a village and a parish in Lancashire. The village stands on the river Irwell, and on the Manchester and Liverpool railway, 4 miles W of Manchester; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under. Manchester. Races are run, on an oval course of ¾ of a mile, in August; and fairs are held on the Friday before Whit-Monday and on 15 Nov. The parish contains the townships of Pendleton and Pendlebury, in the district of Salford, and the townships of Barton-upon-Irwell, Clifton, and Worsley in the district of Barton-npon-Irwell. Acres, 20,240. Real property, £180,121; of which £17,804 are in mines, £1,047 in iron-works, and £48 in railways. Pop., in 1851, 41,497; in 1861, 52,679. Houses, 9,963. The property is much subdivided. The township of Pendleton, and part of that of Pendlebury, with jointly a pop. of 21,562, are within the borough of Salford; and about 7,000 acres are in Chatmoss. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton and silk mills. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £900.* Patron, the Lord Chancellor. The church belonged anciently to Whalley abbey; contains monuments of the Breretons and the Booths; and is in good condition. The chapelries of Ellenbrook, Pendleton, Swinton, Walkden, Worsley, Pendlebury, Hope, Weaste, Patricroft, Irlam, Barton-upon-Irwell, Paddington, and Charleston, are separate charges. There are chapels for Independents, Baptists, Presbyterians, Wesleyans, New Connexion Methodists, and Roman Catholics. An Independent chapel at Eccles village was built in 1860, at a cost of £5,500; is in the early English decorated style; and has a spire 120 feet high. Two schools have £34 from endowment; and other charities £43. Ainsworth, the lexicographer, was a native; and the Right Hon. W. Huskisson, after sustaining a deadly accident at the opening of the railway, died in the parsonage.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Salford library.Cemeteries
- St Mary the Virgin, Church Street, Church of England
- St Mary Jesus and Joseph, Church Street, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Eccles.Church History
Church Records
- Peel St, Baptist
- Wellington Rd, Baptist
- St Andrew, Chadwick Rd, Church of England
- St Mary the Virgin, Church Street, Church of England
- St James, Eccles Old Road, Church of England, Hope
- Clarendon Rd, Congregational
- King St, Congregational
- Zion, Wellington Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Ellesmere Rd, Presbyterian
- Immanuel, Regent Street, Primitive Methodist
- Trinity, Monton Rd, Reformed Church of England
- St Gilbert, Brookhouse, Roman Catholic
- St Mary Jesus and Joseph, Church Street, Roman Catholic
- Church St, SalvationArmy
- Half Edge Lane, Society of Friends
- Wellington Rd, Society of Friends
- Russell St, United Welsh Methodist
- Cambridge Grove, Wesleyan Methodist
- Central Hall, Gladstone Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- Immanuel, Wellington Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Eccles area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Eccles area is Salford.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Eccles which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Eccles to another place.Genealogy
ENG-LAN-ECCLES is an e-mail list for Eccles genealogy.Historical Geography
In 1835 the parish of Eccles contained the townships of Clifton, Pendlebury, Worsley, Pendleton and Barton upon Irwell.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Eccles in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Eccles and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ778986 (Lat/Lon: 53.483637, -2.336020), Eccles which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Eccles was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

