Failsworth
|
|
|
|
FAILSWORTH, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Manchester parish and district, Lancashire. The township lies on the Rochdale canal, and near the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 4½ miles NE by E of Manchester; and has a post office under Manchester. Acres, 1,064. Real property, £16,052; of which £450 are in gas-works. Pop. in 1851, 4,433; in 1861, 5,113. Houses, 1,054. The increase of population arose from the erection of cotton mills and manufactories, the enlargement of a foundry, and the facilities afforded for traffic by canal. The chapelry is conterminate with the township; and was constituted in 1844. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £211.* Patron, alternately the Crown and the Bishop. The church was built in 1846. There are four dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, and national schools. The sub-district includes Moston township. Pop., 8,312.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Oldham library.Cemeteries
- Cemetery Rd, Cemetery
- St John, Oldham Road, Church of England
- Laycock Crescent, Jewish Cemetery
- Bethel, Oldham Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- St Mary (The Immaculate Conception), Oldham Rd, Roman Catholic
- Dob Lane, Unitarian
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Failsworth.Church History
Church Records
- Thorley St, !Audacious
- Holy Family, Lord Lane, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Oldham Road, Church of England
- St John, Oldham Road, Church of England
- Ashton Rd East, Congregational
- Macedonia, Ashton Rd East, Congregational
- Oldham Rd, Evangelical Christian Centre
- Oldham Rd, Jehovah's Witness
- Lord Lane, Methodist
- Roman Rd, Methodist Independent Fellowship
- Bethel, Oldham Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Church St, Mission Hall
- Oldham Rd, New Jerusalem (Swedenborgian)
- Ebenezer, Linwood St, Old Baptist Union
- Zion, Coronation Rd, Old Baptist Union
- St Mary (The Immaculate Conception), Clive Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Mary (The Immaculate Conception), Oldham Rd, Roman Catholic
- Oldham Road, SalvationArmy
- Oldham Road, thefaithworks
- Dob Lane, Unitarian
- Oldham Rd (Wellington St), Wesleyan Methodist
- Woodhouses, Wesleyan Methodist
- Hope, Oldham Rd (Wellington St), Wesleyan Methodist
- Hope, Wrigley Head, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Failsworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Failsworth area is Oldham.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Failsworth which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Failsworth to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Failsworth was a township in the parish of Manchester.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Failsworth in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Failsworth and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD900012 (Lat/Lon: 53.507383, -2.152255), Failsworth which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Failsworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

