Foulridge
|
|
|
|
FOULRIDGE, a township in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the Leeds canal and the Colne and Skipton railway, 2 miles N of Colne. It has a station on the railway, and a post office under Colne. Acres, 2,450. Real property, £4,498; of which £70 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,233; in 1861, 988. Houses, 203. The decrease of pop. arose from the discontinuance of handloom weaving. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Colne library.Cemeteries
- St Michael and All Angels, Skipton Road, Church of England
- Ivegate, Society of Friends
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Foulridge.Church History
Church Records
- St Michael and All Angels, Skipton Road, Church of England
- Ivegate, Society of Friends
- Mount Pleasant, Skipton Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Foulridge area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Foulridge area is Burnley and Pendle.Description and Travel
Local information provided by Pendle.Net.You can see pictures of Foulridge which are provided by:
Directories
Transcript of the entry of professions and trades. for FOULRIDGE in The Craven Household Almanack Directory of 1911.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Foulridge to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Foulridge was a township in the parish of Whalley.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Foulridge and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD890421 (Lat/Lon: 53.874983, -2.168797), Foulridge which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Foulridge was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

