Halton

Select map to view larger area
HALTON, a village and a parish in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Lune, and on the Lancaster and Leeds railway, 2½ miles NNE of Lancaster; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Lancaster. The parish includes also the chapelry of Aughton. Acres, 3,738. Real property, 1,520. Pop., 670. Houses, 130. The property is much subdivided. Halton Hall is a chief residence. Coins of Canute, now in the British museum, were found, in 1815, on Halton moor; vestiges of a Roman camp and an ancient barrow are near the church; and remains of a Roman altar were found at the camp. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 479. Patron, J. Hastings, Esq. The church is modern, with an ancient tower; and has a memorial font. The p. curacy of Aughton is a separate benefice. An endowed school has 15; and other charities have 68.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Halton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Halton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Halton area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Halton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Halton to another place.

Maps

View maps of Halton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD501648 (Lat/Lon: 54.076699, -2.764154), Halton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Halton was in the Peculiar of the Manor of Halton. The records of the Peculiar of Halton are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.