Haydock
|
|
|
|
Haydock, township and vil., Ashton in Makerfield par., SW. Lancashire, 3½ miles NE. of St Helens, 2409 ac., pop. 5863; P.O., T.O.; has ironfounding and extensive collieries; in vicinity is Haydock Lodge, now used as a lunatic asylum.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at St.Helens and Wigan libraries.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Haydock.Church History
Church Records
- Clipsley Lane, Baptist
- St Paul, Chain Lane Off Blackbrook Road, Church of England, Blackbrook
- St James, Church Rd, Church of England
- St Mark, West End Road, Church of England
- Christ Church, West End Road, Congregational
- West End Rd, Independant Methodist, Blackbrook
- West End Road, Primitive Methodist
- The Blessed English Martyrs, Piele Road, Roman Catholic
- Clipsley Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Haydock area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Haydock area is St Helens.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Haydock which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Haydock to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Haydock was a township in the parish of Winwick.Maps
View maps of Haydock and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ565967 (Lat/Lon: 53.465226, -2.656723), Haydock which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Occupations
At least 204 people were killed in an explosion at the Wood Pit in 1878. A list of the victims has been provided from Ian Winstanley's book Weep Mother's Weep.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Haydock was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

