Heath Charnock

Select map to view larger area
CHARNOCK-HEATH, a township in Standish parish, Lancashire; on the Bolton and Preston railway, at Adlington station, 2½ miles SE by S of Chorley. Acres, 1,596. Real property, 4,207; of which 450 are in mines, and 280 in quarries. Pop., 772. Houses, 150. There are brickworks and a cotton-mill.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Heath Charnock.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Heath Charnock area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Heath Charnock area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Heath Charnock which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Heath Charnock to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Heath Charnock was a township in the parish of Standish.

Maps

View maps of Heath Charnock and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD595144 (Lat/Lon: 53.624554, -2.613834), Heath Charnock which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Heath Charnock was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.