Livesey
|
|
|
|
LIVESEY, a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; on the river Darwen, the Leeds and Liverpool canal, and the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, at Cherry-Tree r. station, and 2½ miles SW of Blackburn Acres, 1,890. Real property, £12,145. Pop. in 1851, 2,649; in 1861, 3,581. Houses, 674. The increase of pop. arose from addition to the number of cotton mills, which are extensive. Livesey Hall, and the greater portion of the land, belonged formerly to the Livesey family, now extinct; and it passed by sale, in 1802, to the family of Feilden. The Leeds and Liverpool canal here crosses the river Darwen by a fine one-arched aqueduct. The township is nearly co-extensive with the chapelry of Feniscowles; the church of which was built in 1836, is partly in the pointed style and partly in the Tudor, and has a tower and spire. A national school, at Waterloo, is used as a chapel of ease. An Independent chapel at Mill-Hill is a recent and handsome erection; and contains about 1,000 sittings. The previous chapel is now used as a school-house. A mechanics' institute was established in 1853.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Blackburn library.Cemeteries
- New Row Chapel, Hey's Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Bunker's Hill
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Livesey.Church History
Church Records
- St Francis, St Francis Road, Church of England, Feniscliffe
- St Andrew, Branch Road, Church of England
- St Aidan, St Aidan's Avenue, Church of England, Mill Hill
- Preston Old Rd, Congregational, Cherry Tree
- New Wellington St, Congregational, Mill Hill
- Bentham St, Primitive Methodist, Mill Hill
- St John Vianney, Livesey Branch Road, Roman Catholic
- St Peter in Chains, Jessel Street, Roman Catholic, Mill Hill
- Waterfall, Princess St, United Methodist Free Church
- New Row Chapel, Hey's Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Bunker's Hill
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Livesey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Livesey area is Blackburn.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Livesey which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Livesey to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Livesey was a township in the parish of Blackburn.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Livesey and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD655252 (Lat/Lon: 53.722055, -2.524323), Livesey which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Livesey was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

