Lower Holker
|
|
|
|
HOLKER (LOWER), a village and a township in Cartmel parish, Lancashire. The village stands 2 miles SW of Cartmel town, and contains several neat residences. The township includes also the villages of Cark and Flookburgh; and is conterminate with Flookburgh cha pelry. Acres, 2,130. Real property, £4,600. Pop. in 1851, 1,225; in 1861, 1,160. Houses, 243. The decrease of pop. was caused by the removal of operatives to the iron ore localities. The manor belongs to the Duke of Devonshire. Holker Hall, a seat of the Duke, is a spacious edifice; has recently undergone much improvement; contains a fine collection of paintings; and stands in a well wooded park, extending to the shore of Morecambe bay.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.Cemeteries
- St John the Baptist, Market St, Church of England, Flookburgh
- St John the Baptist, Station Road, Church of England, Flookburgh
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Lower Holker.Church History
Church Records
- St John the Baptist, Market St, Church of England, Flookburgh
- St John the Baptist, Station Road, Church of England, Flookburgh
- St Cuthbert, Allithwaite Rd, Roman Catholic, Flookburgh
- Station Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Cark
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Lower Holker area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Lower Holker area is Ulverston.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Lower Holker which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Lower Holker to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Lower Holker was a township in the parish of Cartmel.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
Maps
View maps of Lower Holker and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD362762 (Lat/Lon: 54.177607, -2.978980), Lower Holker which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Lower Holker was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

