Moss Side
|
|
|
|
MOSS-SIDE, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The village lies 2 miles S by E of Manchester, is neatly built, and has an ornamental public park. The township comprises 430 acres. Real property, £20,039. Pop. in 1851, 943; in 1861, 2,695. Houses, 435. The increase of pop. arose mainly from the extension of buildings and other improvements. The chapelry is much larger than the township, and was constituted in 1854. Pop. in 1861, 6,114. Houses, 1,114. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £717. Patrons, the Representatives of R. Gardiner, Esq. The church is modern. There are national and other schools.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Moss Side.Church History
Church Records
- Moss Lane East, Baptist
- Amani Centre, Quinney Crescent, Baptist
- St Pius X, Deerpark Road, Catholic, Whalley Range
- Manchester Chinese Christian Church, Yarburgh Street, Chinese Christian Church, Whalley Range
- Bethesda, Gt Western Street, Church of Christ
- Christ Church, Monton St, Church of England, Greenheys
- St Clement, Greenheys Lane, Church of England, Greenheys
- St James, Princess Road, Church of England
- St Edmund, Alexandra Road South, Church of England, Whalley Range
- St George, Church of England, Whalley Range
- St Margaret, Whalley Road, Church of England, Whalley Range
- Moss Lane East, Church of God Prophesy Christian Centre
- Moss Lane East, Church of the New Age
- Greenhill Street, Congregational, Greenheys
- Claremont Rd, Congregational
- Withington Rd, Congregational, Whalley Range
- Wright St, Dutch Protestant, Greenheys
- Wright St, German Protestant, Greenheys
- Hall St, Methodist New Connexion, Greenheys
- Moss Lane East, New Jerusalem
- Upper Chorlton Rd, New Testament Church of God, Whalley Range
- Great Western Street, Plymouth Brethren
- Upper Chorlton Rd, Presbyterian, Whalley Range
- Hall St, Primitive Methodist, Greenheys
- Gt Western Street, Primitive Methodist
- Hartley Victoria College Chapel, Alexandra Road South, Primitive Methodist, Whalley Range
- Our Lady of Perpetual Succour, Raby Street, Roman Catholic
- English Martyrs (formerly St Bede), Alexandra Road South, Roman Catholic, Whalley Range
- St Bede's College, Alexandra Road South, Roman Catholic, Whalley Range
- Church of Divine Mercy, Moss Lane East, Roman Catholic (Polish)
- Bloomsbury, Rusholme Road, Scotch Presbyterian, Greenheys
- Alexandra Road South, Spiritualist, Whalley Range
- Moss Lane East, UK Apostolic Church of God Seventh Day
- Hall St, United Methodist Free Church, Greenheys
- Amani Centre, Quinney Crescent, United Reformed
- Moss Lane East, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Egerton Road, Welsh Wesleyan, Whalley Range
- Gore St (renamed Guildhall St), Welsh Wesleyan Methodist, Greenheys
- Raby Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Egerton Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Whalley Range
- Great Western St, Wesleyan Methodist, Whalley Range
- Withington Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Whalley Range
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Moss Side area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Moss Side area is Manchester.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Moss Side which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Moss Side to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Moss Side was a township in the parish of Manchester.Information about boundaries and administrative areas is available from A Vision of Britain through time.
History
A description of Moss Side in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Moss Side and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ841954 (Lat/Lon: 53.455103, -2.240920), Moss Side which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Moss Side was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

