Newton Heath
|
|
|
|
Newton Heath is a township and ecclesiastical parish, within the parish and parliamentary borough, but not within the municipal boundary of Manchester, situated a mile and a half to the east of that city, in the union of Prestwich, and county court district of Manchester, rural deanery of Cheetham, and archdeaconry and diocese of Manchester.from Kelly's Manchester Directory, 1873
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
- Philip's Park, Riverpark Rd, Cemetery, Miles Platting
- All Saints New Burial Ground, Orford Rd, Cemetery
- All Saints, Culcheth Lane, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Newton Heath.Church History
Church Records
- St Barnabas, Oldham Rd, Church of England, Miles Platting
- St Cuthbert, Oldham Rd, Church of England, Miles Platting
- St John the Evangelist, Oldham Road, Church of England, Miles Platting
- St Luke, Albion Street, Church of England, Miles Platting
- All Saints, Culcheth Lane, Church of England
- St Ann, Oldham Road, Church of England
- St Augustine, Sanderson Street, Church of England
- St Mark, Holland Street, Church of England
- St Wilfrid, Oldham Road, Church of England
- Thorpe Road, Congregational
- Culcheth Lane, Evangelical Church
- Varley St, Independent Methodist, Miles Platting
- Dale Street, Hulme Hall Lane, Methodist, Miles Platting
- St Paul, Bower St, Methodist
- Lodge Street/Queen's Rd, Methodist Association, Miles Platting
- Wilson St, Methodist New Connexion, Miles Platting
- Culcheth, Droylsden Road, Methodist New Connexion
- St Paul, Ten Acres Lane, Methodist New Connexion
- Lilley Street, Presbyterian, Monsall
- Zion, Hall Street, Primitive Methodist
- Oldham Road, Redeemed Church of God
- Corpus Christi, Varley St, Roman Catholic, Miles Platting
- St Edmund of Canterbury, Monsall Street, Roman Catholic, Miles Platting
- Christ the King, Amos Avenue, Roman Catholic
- Varley St, Salvation Army, Miles Platting
- Oldham Road, Unitarian Free, Miles Platting
- Hulme Hall Lane formerly Oldham Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Miles Platting
- Oldham Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Miles Platting
- Lilley Street, Wesleyan Methodist, Monsall
- Oldham Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Newton Heath area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Newton Heath area is Manchester.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Newton Heath which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Newton Heath to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Newton Heath was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Newton Heath in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Newton Heath and places within its boundaries.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD879003 (Lat/Lon: 53.499249, -2.183884), Newton Heath which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law
Newton Heath was part of the Prestwich Poor Law Union.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Newton Heath was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
The Manchester & Lancashire Family History Society.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

