Penketh

Select map to view larger area
PENKETH, a township in Prescot parish, Lancashire; on the Sankey canal, the Warrington and Runcorn-Gap railway, and the river Mersey, at Fidler's ferry, 3½ miles W S W of Warrington. It has a station on the railway, a post-office under Warrington, a brewery, Quaker and Wesleyan chapels, and a national school. Acres, 1,048. Real property, 3,117. Pop. in 1851, 679; in 1861, 784. Houses, 141.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Penketh.

Church History

Church Records

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Penketh area is Warrington.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures in an area centred on OS grid reference SJ564877 (Lat/Lon: 53.384081, -2.655575) which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Penketh to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Penketh was a township in the parish of Prescot.

Maps

View maps of Penketh and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ564877 (Lat/Lon: 53.384081, -2.655575), which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Penketh was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.