Pleasington
|
|
|
|
PLEASINGTON, a township in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; on the river Darwen, and on the East Lancashire railway, 3 miles W by S of Blackburn. It has a station on the railway ; a Roman Catholic chapel, built in 1819, at a cost of more than £20,000; and an endowed school, with £10 a year. Acres, 1,600. Real property, £3,414; of which £155 are in quarries. The manor, with P. Hall, belongs to J. B. Bowden, Esq. P. Hall is a modern mansion in the Grecian style. P. Old Hall was built in 1587, and was a fine mansion, but is now a farm-house. Feniscowles Hall is the seat of Sir W. H. Feilden, Bart.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Blackburn library.Cemeteries
- Tower Rd, Cemetery and Crematorium
- St Mary and St John the Baptist, Sandy Lane, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Pleasington.Church History
Church Records
- St Mary and St John the Baptist, Sandy Lane, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Pleasington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Pleasington area is Blackburn.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Pleasington which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Pleasington to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Pleasington was a township in the parish of Blackburn.Maps
View maps of Pleasington and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD642263 (Lat/Lon: 53.731854, -2.544151), Pleasington which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Pleasington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

