Roeburndale

Select map to view larger area
ROEBURNDALE, a township in Melling parish, Lancashire; near the boundary with Yorkshire, 9 miles E N E of Lancaster. Acres, 8,845. Real property, 2,310; of which 60 are in quarries. Pop., 144. Houses. 23. Much of the land is moor and mountain.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Roeburndale.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Roeburndale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Roeburndale area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Roeburndale which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Roeburndale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Roeburndale was a township in the parish of Melling in Lonsdale.

Maps

View maps of Roeburndale and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD607623 (Lat/Lon: 54.055151, -2.601833), Roeburndale which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Roeburndale was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.