Salford
|
|
|
|
SALFORD, a town, a township, seven chapelries, a district, and a hundred, in Lancashire. The town stands on the W side of the river Irwell, on the Bolton and Bury canal, and on the Northwestern, the Lancashire and Yorkshire, the East Lancashire, and the South Junction railways, contiguous to Manchester; is separated from that city only by the river Irwell, and communicates with it by numerous bridges; was politically superior to it in the 9th century; became afterwards suburbanto it; is now, in participation of its trade, and for all other practical purposes, an integral part of it; presents a near resemblance to it in streets and edifices; contains several public buildings and a great public park, which belong fully more to Manchester than to itself; has railway stations and numerous institutions of its own, and a post-office, several receiving post-offices, and several postal pillar-boxes under Manchester; publishes a weekly newspaper; and is a parliamentary and municipal borough.and a seat of petty sessions, quarter sessions, county courts, and a court of record. The borough boundaries are the same municipally as parliamentarily; and include all Salford, Pendleton, and Broughton townships, and part of Pendlebury. Amount of property and income tax charged in 1863, £27,220. Electors in 1833, 1,497; in 1863, 5,137. Pop. in 1861, 102,449. Houses, 19,128. The township comprises 1,220 acres. Real property, £199,407. Pop. in 1851, 63,423; in 1861, 71,002. Houses, 13,303. more ...John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
- Salford
Local History Library.
- Working Class Movement Library,
Jubilee House,
51 The Crescent,
SALFORD M5 4WX,
Telephone 0161 736 2649The above Working Class Library is very useful for background details. The first approach should be by telephone.
Cemeteries
- Christ Church, King Street, Bible Christian
- Christ Church, Acton Square, Church of England
- Sacred Trinity, Chapel Street, Church of England
- St Bartholomew, Oldfield Road, Church of England
- St Philip, Chapel Street, Church of England
- St Stephen, St Stephen St, Church of England
- Stowell Memorial, Eccles New Road, Church of England
- New Windsor, Cross Lane, Independent
- St John the Evangelist (Cathedral), Chapel St, Roman Catholic
- New Jerusalem Temple, Bolton Street, Swedenborgian
- Greengate/Dawson's Croft, Unitarian
- Irwell St, Wesleyan Methodist
Langley Road
Agecroft
Pendlebury
Lancashire
England
M27 8SS
Tel. 44 (0)161 736 2512 Fax. 44 (0)161 737 5538
They also have information on Weaste Cemetery.
Peel Green Cemetery
716 Liverpool Road
Eccles
Lancashire
England
M30 7LW
They also have information on Swinton Cemetery
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Salford.Church History
Anne Gerhard, has researched some information concerning Early Christian Salford>.Church Records
- St Alban the Martyr, Great Cheetham St East, Anglican Catholic
- Ford Street, Baptist
- Gt George Street, Baptist
- St Philip, Bank Street, Baptist
- Zion, Broughton Rd, Baptist
- Cross Lane, Bible Christian
- Christ Church, King Street, Bible Christian
- New Harvest, Chapel Street, Christian Fellowship
- St Clement, Hulton Street, Church of England, Ordsall
- St Cyprian, Taylorson Street, Church of England, Ordsall
- St Ignatius, St. Ignatius Walk/ King Edward Street, Church of England, Ordsall
- Christ Church, Acton Square, Church of England
- Sacred Trinity, Chapel Street, Church of England
- St Bartholomew, Oldfield Road, Church of England
- St Matthias, Blackfriars Road, Church of England
- St Philip, Chapel Street, Church of England
- St Simon, Springfield Lane, Church of England
- St Stephen, St Stephen St, Church of England
- Stowell Memorial, Eccles New Road, Church of England
- Dawson's Croft, Congregational
- Lord Duncan St, Congregational
- Hope, Liverpool Street, Congregational
- Regent, Trafford Road, Congregational
- Richmond, Blackfriars Road, Congregational
- St Paul, Edward St, Free Church of England
- Chapel Street, Independent
- New Windsor, Broad St, Independent
- New Windsor, Cross Lane, Independent
- Shaw St, Independent Methodist
- Salem, Ellor St, Independent Methodist
- St Stephen St, Methodist Association
- Ebenezer, Bury St, Methodist Association
- The Hope, Peel Hall, University of Salford, Non-conformist
- Chapel St, Presbyterian
- Blackfriars Road, Primitive Methodist
- Broad St, Primitive Methodist
- King Street, Primitive Methodist
- Regent Street, Primitive Methodist
- Cross Lane, Religious Centre for Spiritualism
- St Joseph, St Joseph's Drive, Roman Catholic, Ordsall
- Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Oldfield Road, Roman Catholic
- St John the Evangelist (Cathedral), Chapel St, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph, Ellesmere Street, Roman Catholic
- St Peter, Greengate, Roman Catholic
- New Jerusalem Temple, Bolton Street, Swedenborgian
- Ford Street, Unitarian
- Greengate/Dawson's Croft, Unitarian
- Eccles New Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Liverpool St, United Methodist Free Church
- Rigby Street, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Uxbridge Street, Welsh Calvinist Methodist
- Lord Duncan St, Welsh Congregational
- Bedford St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Gravel Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Irwell St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Regent Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Salford Dock Methodist Mission, New Park Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Salford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Salford Register Office holds records of births, marriages and deaths since 1837.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Salford which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Salford to another place.Genealogy
Historical Geography
In 1835 Salford was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of the of area known as Hanky Park.How Salford was granted it's charter.
A description of Salford in the 19th century.
Maps
View maps of Salford and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ822983 (Lat/Lon: 53.481109, -2.269698), Salford which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor Law
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Salford workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Salford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

