Samlesbury

Select map to view larger area
SAMLESBURY, a township-chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; on the river Ribble, 2 miles E S E of Fulwood r. station, and 3¾ E by N of Preston. It contains part of Mellor-Brook hamlet, which has a post-office under Blackburn, and Roach hamlet, which has a cotton-mill. Acres, 4,270. Real property, 6,951; of which 10 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,435; in 1861, 1,215. Houses, 236. S. Old Hall is the seat of J. Harrison, Esq.; was erected in 1530, by Sir T. Southworth; was moated till the formation of the new road from Preston to Blackburn; contains a great hall, constructed of Massive and elegantly carved oak timbers; and was restored and finely embellished in 1864. Roach Hall dates from 1675, was long the residence of the Hoghton family, and is now a farm-house. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150.* Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church is ancient. There are a Roman Catholic chapel, a national school, and charities 35.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Click pictures to enlarge

hall

Samlesbury Higher Hall

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Samlesbury.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Samlesbury area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Samlesbury area is Preston & South Ribble.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Samlesbury which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Samlesbury to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Samlesbury was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Samlesbury and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD605299 (Lat/Lon: 53.763942, -2.600695), Samlesbury which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Samlesbury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.