Tarleton

Select map to view larger area
TARLETON, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Ormskirk district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Douglas, 2½ miles WNW of Croston r. station, and 8 NNE of Ormskirk; and has a post-office under Preston. The parish is cut into three divisions, and comprises 5,405 acres. Real property, 8,081. Pop., 1,987. Houses, 365. The manor belongs to Sir T. G. Hesketh, Bart., and Lord Lilford. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 960.* Patron, the Rev. M. Fletcher. The church is a plain brick building. A national school at Mere-Brow is used as a chapel of ease. There are three Methodist chapels, an endowed school with 29 a year, a school of industry, and charities 8. The sub-district contains 20 parishes. Acres, 12,139. Pop., 3,656. Houses, 667.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Tarleton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tarleton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Tarleton area is West Lancashire.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Tarleton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tarleton to another place.

Maps

View maps of Tarleton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD451208 (Lat/Lon: 53.680759, -2.832670), Tarleton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tarleton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.