Tockholes

Select map to view larger area
TOCKHOLES, a township and a chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire. The township lies 3 miles SSW of Blackburn r. station. Acres, 2,050. Real property, 2,546. Pop. in 1851, 939; in 1861, 820. Houses, 164. The manor belongs to E. Shorrock, Esq. Two skirmishes occurred here in the civil wars of Charles I. The chapelry was constituted in 1842. Post town, Blackburn. Pop. in 1861, 2,542. Houses, 504. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 160. Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church was rebuilt in 1833. There are an Independent chapel and two national schools.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Blackburn library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Tockholes.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tockholes area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Tockholes area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Tockholes which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tockholes to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Tockholes was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Tockholes and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD662231 (Lat/Lon: 53.703226, -2.513485), Tockholes which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tockholes was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.