Todmorden with Walsden

Todmorden with Walsden was in Lancashire prior to 1888, and after that became part of Yorkshire. See also Halifax.

Select map to view larger area
TODMORDEN, a town, a township, and a chapelry, in Lancashire, and a sub-district and a district partly also in W. R. Yorkshire. The town stands on the river Calder, the Rochdale canal, and the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 7½ miles NNE of Rochdale; enjoys fine environs, overhung all round by lofty mountains; presents an irregularly-built and straggling appearance; is a seat of petty-sessions and county courts; publishes two monthly newspapers; carries on extensive manufactures of cotton, fustians, velveteens, satteens, iron-work, and machinery; and has a head post-office, a r. station with telegraph, a banking office, three chief inns, a police station, an Odd Fellows' hall, a marble statue of the late John Fielden set up in 1861, a handsome church of 1831, an old church now used only for mortuary services, five dissenting chapels, a mechanics' institute, national schools, a weekly market on Saturday, a cattle market on the first Thursday of every month, and two annual fairs, each of three days' continuance, the one from the Thursday before Easter, the other from 27 Sept. The township includes Walsden chapelry, bears the name of T. and Walsden, and is in Rochdale parish. Acres, not separately returned. Real property, 30,677; of which 2,252 are in mines, and 103 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 7,699; in 1861, 9,146. Houses, 1,790. Dobroyd Castle, built in 1866-8, T. Hall, Stansfield Hall, Scaitcliffe, Centre Vale, and Ridgefoot are chief residences; and there are many handsome villas. The chapelry comprises all the township except Walsden. Pop., 5,212. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 300. Patron, the Vicar of Rochdale. The sub-district includes part of Halifax parish; and had, in 1861, a pop. of 20,287. Houses, 4,031. The district includes also Hebden-Bridge sub-district, and comprises 26,920 acres, besides the area of T. township. Poor rates in 1863, 12,617. Pop. in 1851, 29,727; in 1861, 31,113. Houses, 6,435. Marriages in 1863, 133; births, 949,-of which 66 were illegitimate; deaths, 549,-of which 172 were at ages under 5 years, and 7 at ages above 85. Marriages in the ten years 1851-60, 1,289; births, 9,238; deaths, 6,122. The places of worship, in 1851, were 7 of the Church of England, with 4,950 sittings; 3 of Independents, with 1,120 s.; 13 of Baptists, with 4,092 s.; 1 of Quakers, with 250 s.; 1 of Unitarians, with 400 s.; 11 of Wesleyans, with 3,731 s.; 4 of Primitive Methodists, with 1,090 s.; 8 of the Wesleyan Association, with 1,981 s.; and 1 undefined, with 350 s. The schools were 18 public day-schools, with 1,773 scholars; 45 private day-schools, with 1,550 s.; 46 Sunday schools, with 7,104 s.; and 7 evening schools for adults, with 156 s. There is no workhouse.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Todmorden and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Todmorden with Walsden.

Church History

A picture of St Peter's, Walsden.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Todmorden area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Todmorden area is Calderdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Todmorden which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Todmorden to another place.

Genealogy

Genealogical and historical information about Todmorden and Walsden.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Todmorden with Walsden was a township in the parish of Rochdale. Prior to 1888 this township and half of the town of Todmorden was in Lancashire, the other half being in the West Riding of Yorkshire. From 1 January 1888 all of Todmorden became part of Yorkshire.

History

A description of Todmorden in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD935241 (Lat/Lon: 53.713273, -2.099967), Todmorden which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Todmorden with Walsden was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

Calderdale FHS.

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.