Windle
|
|
|
|
WINDLE, a township in Prescot parish, Lancashire; containing part of the town of St. Helens. Acres, 2,907. Real property, £87,101; of which £156 are in quarries, £2,950 in mines, £735 in iron-works, £45,449 in railways, and £400 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 9,370; in 1861, 12,229. Houses, 2,159. The manor belongs to Sir R. Gerard, Bart. A brewery is at Dentons-Green; large chemical works and an earthenware manufactory are at Gerard's Bridge; a cemetery of 20 acres, formed in 1857, and containing three mortuary chapels, is at Old Windeshaw; and national and Roman Catholic schools are at Moss-Bank.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at St Helens library.Cemeteries
- St Thomas of Canterbury, Windleshaw, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Windle.Church History
Church Records
- St Thomas of Canterbury, Windleshaw, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Windle area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Windle area is StHelens.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Windle which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Windle to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Windle was a township in the parish of Prescot.Maps
View maps of Windle and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ500975 (Lat/Lon: 53.471839, -2.754752), Windle which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Windle was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

