Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Burwell

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Burwell

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Louth sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 629
1851 H.O. 107 / 2111
1861 R.G. 9 / 2382
1871 R.G. 10 / 3404
1881 R.G. 11 / 3263
1891 R.G. 12 / 2608
1901 R.G. 13 / 3084

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Burwell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • In the Norman era, there was a priory of Benedictine monks here, founded by John de HAY. It was affiliated with the abbey at Bordeaux.
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Michael.
  • The church is an ancient building of apparent Norman origin. The church was restored in 1911.
  • The church seats 160.
  • The vicarage was annexed to Muckton rectory in 1841. The curacy of Walmsgate was united with Burwell. Walmsgate no longer has a parish church of its own.
  • The Diocese of Lincoln declared this church redundant in May, 1981, and the church closed in 1982 and was turned over to the Redundant Churches Fund.
  • There is a photograph of the Anglican parish church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site, taken by Paul Fenwick.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of St. Michael from the side on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2004.
  • Andrew TELFER has a photograph of the church tower on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2005.
  • Here are two photos of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Burwell St. Michael parish church

Burwell St. Michael parish church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1586. As of late 2004, the registers have not been deposited in the Lincs. Archives, nor have they been filmed by the LDS Family History Library. And copies of the Bishop's Transcripts have not been deposited either.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several Marriage indexes and a Burial index for the Louthesk Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish in the rural deanery of Calcewaith No. 1.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Louth sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Burwell is a village and a parish in the Wold Hills of Lincolnshire, situated on the Spilsby road 5 miles south-east of Louth, and 3 miles west of Authorpe. The parish covers just over 2,000 acres.

If you are planning a visit, see:

  • By automobile, take the A16 main road between Louth and Spilsby. The road passes thru the centre of Burwell village.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Burwell which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Burwell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Burwell to another place.

History

  • The Burwell Butter Cross has been converted into the Burwell Parish Hall. Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Butter Cross at Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Stag's Head P. H. on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2007.
  • These are the names associated with the Stag's Head Inn in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 Thos. ROBERTSON, vict.
1868 Mrs. Mary ROBINSON
1872 Thomas William ODLING, victualler
1882 Mrs. Eliza ODLING, vict.
1900 Frederick William BRIGGS, wheelwright
1913 Tom SYKES
1919 Tom SYKES
1930 Mrs. SYKES

Thomas W. ODLING, above, was born in Burwell, LIN, circa 1824. Eliza ODLING, above, was born in Burwell, LIN, circa 1826.

Manors

  • The Manor House stood in Burwell Park. The park covered some 200 acres.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF355796 (Lat/Lon: 53.296020, 0.031630), Burwell which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Burwell War Memorial plaque in the church and the names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Burwell is from the Old English burh+wella meaning "spring by the fort". In the 1086 Domesday book, the village name is given as Burwelle.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • Early in its history the parish was delineated as being in the Hill Hundred.
  • The parish was later in the Wold division of the ancient Louth Eske Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You may contact the local Burwell Parish Council regarding civic or political issues. They are NOT staffed to assist you with family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Louth petty session hearings every other Wednesday.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became part of the Louth Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 83
1811 155
1821 161
1831 181
1841 174
1871 153
1881 159
1891 164
1901 143
1911 163

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built in 1825 to serve Burwell and the nearby parishes of Walmsgate and Muckton. It was enlarged in 1896.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.