We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Winterton

Cemeteries

  • The Winterton Cemetery was established in 1876, covering 3 acres with mortuary chapels. It was under the control of the town Burial Board.
  • David WRIGHT has a photograph of the Cemetery on Geo-graph, taken in 2006.

Census

  • The parish was in the Winterton sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 649
1851 H.O. 107 / 2117
1861 R.G. 9 / 2400
1871 R.G. 10 / 3431
1891 R.G. 12 / 2627 & 2628

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Winterton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican Church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church tower and nave at Winterton may have an Anglo-Saxon origin.
  • The church went through a long restoration from 1876 to 1890.
  • The church seats 465.
  • There is a photograph of All Saints Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site, taken by Paul FENWICK.
  • Here is a photo of All Saints Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1558 through 1950.
  • We have a small text file of parish register extracts to which you are welcome to add entries.
  • Check the Manlake Deanery to see existing Marriage Indexes.
  • Primitive Methodist registers exist covering 1899 to 1961. The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel built here in 1877.
  • For more on researching Methodist records, see our non-conformist religions page.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Winterton sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish is in the north of Lincolnshire, about 8 miles north of Scunthorpe and a mile and a half south of the River Humber. Winteringham parish lies to the north and Roxby cum Risby parish to the south. The Old River Ancholme forms the eastern boundary. The parish covers a little more than 3,600 acres.

In olden days Winterton was a small market town. If you are planning a visit:

  • To get to the village of Winterton, take the A1077 north out of Scunthorpe or west 8 miles out of Barton-upon-Humber. The village lies about a mile west of the ancient Ermine Street.
  • Check out our touring page.
You can see pictures of Winterton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Winterton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The great Roman raod Ermine Street passes through the parish.
  • A Roman villa stood at Winterton and some of its mosaics and artifacts have been recovered.
  • Holy Well, near the village, was considered a medicinal cure by the ancients.
  • William the Conqueror granted Lordship of Winterton to Norman D'Arcy, whose descendants held it for several centuries.
  • The Police Station was built in 1853.
  • Each July (around the 6th) the townspeople celebrate a mid-summer show, a tradition dating back more than 100 years.
  • In 1798, it cost William FOWLER of Winterton eight shillings to travel on the outside of a carriage from London to Brigg. It took another 5 shillings to to go by cart from Brigg to Winterton.
  • In 1810, it took four days to ship goods to London by wagon.
  • A gas works was erected in Winterton in 1855.
  • In 1925, motor buses began making daily trips from Winterton to Scunthorpe.
  • In 1968, during a road-widening of the A1077, a stone coffin was found with the skeleton of a young woman in it. She would have been about 23 years old, and stood 5'3". He body was laid on a sheet of lead. The age of the burial is not reported.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SE926185 (Lat/Lon: 53.654800, -0.600345), Winterton which are provided by:

Military History

  • The Royal Flying Corps laid out an emergency landing ground here during the Great War. No flight operations were conducted from this field.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Winterton is from the Old English Wintra+inga+tun, or "Homestead of the followers of Wintra". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village name is given as Wintrintune.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

  • The most famous person from Winterton is William FOWLER (1761 - 1832), noted architect and builder.
  • Jonathan DENT, who died at age 91, was a locally known man of wealth, who is buried in a large tomb in his garden.
  • You may find other Winterton relatives on Kevin Shucksmith's web site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • For governance, the parish was in the ancient Manley Wapentake in the parts of Lindsey.
  • In 1894, Winterton changed from a Parish Council to an Urban District Council form of government.
  • You can contact the local Town Council concerning civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history searches.
  • District governance is currently provided by the North Lincolnshire Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Care of the poor dates back to at least 1728 when Richard BECK left an endowment for the poor.
  • After the Poor Law Act of 1834, this parish was part of the Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard at the Winterton petty session hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 773
1831 1,295
1841 1,373
1871 1,757
1881 1,601
1891 1,400
1901 1,361
1911 1,426

Schools

  • A National School was built here in 1841 to house 200 students. The Wesleyans also erected a school here in 1850.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Resear page.