Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for All Hallows Staining

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

All Hallows Staining

"ALLHALLOWS STAINING, the church of, is situated near the eastern extremity of Langbourn Ward, on the west side, and near to the north end of Mark-lane, within four houses of Fenchurch-street. It is believed to be of Saxon origin from its cognomen Stane, corruptly Staining, the Saxon word for stone, probably to distinguish it from some other that was of wood. It is mentioned as early 1329, when Edward Camel was its incumbent. It was anciently a rectory, under the patronage of the De Walthams, till 1365, when Simon, Bishop of London, presented it to the abbot and convent of De Grace, near the Tower." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 97 in the above map - is located in Langbourn Ward.
The parish was later united with St Olave Hart Street 1870.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows Staining.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows Staining parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for All Hallows Staining [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on All Hallows Staining.

You can see pictures of All Hallows Staining which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from All Hallows Staining to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which All Hallows Staining has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of All Hallows Staining parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Povah, Alfred. The annals of the parishes of St. Olave Hart Street and Allhallows Staining, in the city of London. Ecclesiastically united, A.D. 1870. London, Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent & Co. (1894) 429pp. [Full text]
Wellard, Tom. History of the united benefice of St. Olave Hart Street and All Hallows Staining with St. Catherine Coleman Typewritten (1966?) 277pp. [Guildhall Library]
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows Staining - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows Staining district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of All Hallows Staining, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows Staining parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.