Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Bride

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Bride

"ST. BRIDE'S or ST. BRIDGET'S, Fleet street, the Church of, is situated to the southward of [ST. BRIDE'S] Avenue, and is bounded by the Avenue on the north; St. Bride's-passage, Salisbury-square, on the west; Bride-lane on the east, and the backs of the houses of Bell's-buildings on the south. This church is a fabric of great strength and beauty, and forms one of the most striking features of the metropolis. . . . The old church was so much damaged by the fire of 1666, that it was taken down and entirely rebuilt by Sir Christopher Wren, who completed it for divine service in 1680, and further embellished it in 1699. The tower and steeple were began in October 1701, and completed in 1703. The church has since that time undergone several expensive repairs, and has been recently restored and beautified in a manner deserving its great reputation, and creditable to the munificence of the parishioners. This church appears to be of considerable antiquity, as there are records of three rectors previous to 1362. . . It was originally a rectory in the patronage of the Abbot and Convent of Westminster, and is supposed to have been converted into a vicarage about the year 1529. . .. The present vicar is the Rev. Joseph Allen, D.D., Prebendary of Westminster, and Vicar of Battersea. He was instituted by the Dean and Chapter in 1829." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Farringdon Without Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St George Botolph Lane 1670, St Mary at Hill 1901.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Bride.

St Bride Foundation Library - "a world-class resource, with extensive collections relating to printing, typography and graphic design".

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Bride area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

St Bride's: History - a multi-page account, on the church website.

Fascinating history buried deep below St Bride's church - from ITV News website.

 

Bell, W.G. Fleet Street in seven centuries: Being a History of the Growth of London Beyond the Walls Into the Western Liberty, and of Fleet Street to Our Time. London: Sir I. Pitman (1912) 710pp. [Full text]
Noble, T. C. Memorials of Temple Bar : with some account of Fleet Street, and the parishes of St. Dunstan and St. Bride, London: chiefly derived from ancient records and original sources. London : Diprose & Bateman, [1869] 140 pp. [Full Text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Bride are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Bride.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Bride.

You can see pictures of St Bride which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Bride to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Bride has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Bride parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

St Bride Foundation: Where Fleet Street Learned to Print, by Ursula Jeffries.

Fleet Street, a paper by Christopher Mitchell, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

Fleet Street: the Place and the Concept, a paper by Joyce C. Nash, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

Blackfriars Bridge, a paper by P.E. Jones, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Bride - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Bride London district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Bride, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

A report on the parish workhouse is given in City of London Parish Workhouses.

topup

Schools

Brief state of St. Bride's charity-schools; with a list of the trustees and subscribers. Nicholson And Son, Printers (1803) 1699. [Full text]
topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Bride parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.