Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Bishops Hull

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bishops Hull

"BISHOP'S HULL, a parish in the hundred of Taunton, in the county of Somerset, 1½ mile W. of Taunton, its post town. The village is considerable and lies on the banks of the river Tone, not far from the British and Exeter railway. The living is a perpetual curacy in the diocese of Bath and Wells, value £222, in the patronage of the Rev. H. W. Rawlin. The church is dedicated to SS. Peter and Paul. The charitable endowments amount to about £50 a year." From The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868) Transcribed by Colin Hinson © 2003

Bibliography

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bishops Hull area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

  • Roy Parkhouse has provided a transcript of Marriages 1562-1812 from the Bishops Hull parish registers.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bishops Hull which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bishops Hull has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference ST200240 (Lat/Lon: 51.009740, -3.141734), Bishops Hull which are provided by:

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.