Hide
Knightley Hearth Tax 1666
hide
Hide
KNIGHTLEY CONSTABLEWICK HEARTH TAX 1666
The Hearth Tax or chimney-money was a payment to the king of 2s. on every hearth " in all houses paying to church and poor," first levied in 1662. It was repealed in 1689, although it was producing £170,000 a year, on account of its unpopularity, the tax being especially obnoxious because of its inquisitorial character.
Knightley Constablewick. Hearthes Chargeable.Henry Binge, gentleman (of the Hall) Twelve
Robert Barnefeild (?d. 1669) Foure
Matthew Pott One
Tho. Tompkinson One
Widdow Hudson One
Rich: Walter One
Edward Walter One
Rich: Scutt Two
Thomas Vize (?d. 1691) One
Humfrey Devenall Two
John Swanne One
William Swanne One
James Cooper One
Thomas Vennables One
Widdow Tompkinson One
Ancell Barratt One
William Ashe One
Thomas Blackman Two
Widdow Purcell Three
John Partington Two
William Ferinhough One
John Tunnicliffe One
William Cooper One
Thomas Yates One
Widdow Winsor One
John Tompkinson One
Rich: James One
Anthony Sutton Two
Thomas Wright One
William Barratt One
Thomas Fowler (d. 1682) One
George Devenall One
Thomas Bradshaw One
John North One
William Johnson Two
Widdow Slyme One
Thomas Burley (d. 1685) One
Mary Taylor One
Widdow Bayley Two
Humfrey Lightwood One
Total 63
The following are certified for not to bee Chargeable according to the Acte
William James John Whitherr (? John Whithurst d. 1680)
Rich: Roden Thomas James
Humfrey Bradshaw Henry Barratt
Dorrothy Barratt Margery Wright (d. 1684)
John Fowler Margery Corke
Richard Tiver Vallentine Viccars (d. 1684)
By Tho: Reynoldes, Minister de Gnosall
John Tunnicliffe Ouerseer
Allowed by
T. Whitgreaue & R. Milward, Justices of the Peace.
(these notes in brackets are from the Gnosall parish registers)