Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Pattingham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Pattingham

"Pattingham, is a pleasant village on the western verge of Staffordshire, six miles W of Wolverhampton, beautifully situated in full view of the Wrekin, and the long range of Shropshire hills. Its parish comprises two townships, Pattingham, containing about 2700 acres and 802 inhabitants, and Rudge, which has 1560 acres and 101 souls and is in Shropshire. The adjacent manors of Pattingham and Patshull, and most of the soil, have lately been purchased by the Earl of Dartmouth.
Nurton is a hamlet in Pattingham township, five miles W of Wolverhampton."
[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851]

Bibliography

'A History of Codsall, Patshull & Pattingham.
An Abstract from Victoria County History of Staffordshire, Vol XX'

by MW Greenslade
Published 1989, by Staffordshire Libraries, Arts & Archives, Stafford.

'Pattingham. A Guide & a Brief History of the Parish'
by Anon
Published 1969, by Pattingham Parish Council
Second Edition published 1981.

'Around Pattingham & Wombourne in Old Photographs'
by Mary Griffiths, Peter Leigh & Mary Mills
Published 1992, by Alan Sutton, Stroud, Gloucestershire.

'Tettenhall & Pattingham. (The Archive Photograph Series)'
by Alex Brew
Published 1997, by Chalford, Stroud, Gloucestershire.

Cemeteries

A transcript of the Monumental Inscriptions of the church of Pattingham, St Chad has been published by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.

Census

The population of the Staffordshire part of Pattingham parish was as follows:
1831 - 817
1841 - 802

A surname index of the 1851 census of Pattingham parish is included in the Staffordshire 1851 Census Surname index, Volume 13, Wolverhampton, published by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.

Church History

"St Chad's Church, Pattingham, is an ancient structure, which, except the steeple and the outer walls, was destroyed by fire in 1677, together with several houses. It was soon afterwards repaired. The tower, which has evident traces of a spire, contains six bells, dated 1724, and a clock with chimes, which play every three hours. The chancel is an excellent rough specimen of the early English style. The arches on the north side of the nave are circular, and there is a good decorated window at the east end of the south aisle.
The Earl of Dartmouth is patron of the vicarage, in the incumbency of the Rev. W George Greenstreet, MA, who is also incumbent of Patshull."

[From History, Gazetteer and Directory of Staffordshire, William White, Sheffield, 1851)

Church Records

Church of England Registers
The parish registers of St Chad, Pattingham commence in 1559. The original registers for the period 1559-1918 (Bapts), 1559-1936 (Mar) & 1559-1889 (Bur) are deposited at Staffordshire Record Office.
Bishops Transcripts, 1660-1874 (with gaps 1854-55 & 1858-59) are deposited at Lichfield Record Office.

A transcript of the registers of St Chad for the period 1559-1812 was published in 1934 by the Staffordshire Parish Registers Society and has been reprinted by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.
A transcript of the registers of St Chad for the period 1813-1874 (baptisms only) has been published by the Birmingham & Midland SGH.

Description and Travel

A transcription of the section on Pattingham from A Topographical History of Staffordshire by William Pitt (1817)

You can see pictures of Pattingham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Pattingham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SO822991 (Lat/Lon: 52.589380, -2.264191), Pattingham which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Pattingham parish became part of Seisdon Union following the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834.