Genuki Logo      England
   Genuki contents

Yorkshire towns and parishes
Towns & Parishes

Information related to all of Yorkshire
Information related to
all of Yorkshire

  Search YKS

is it in

In order to assist in your navigation of the 45,000+ pages and photographs within
the Yorkshire GENUKI site, please read the "Important Information" page.
The page includes some tips, term definitions etc. etc.


Yorkshire, maritime county of England; bounded N. by Durham and the Tees, NE. and E. by the North Sea, S. by the Humber and Lincolnshire, Notts, and Derbyshire, SW. by Cheshire, W. by Lancashire, and N.W. by Westmorland; length, E. and W., 96 miles; breadth, 80 miles; area, 3,882,851 acres, population 2,886,564. Yorkshire is the first county of England in point of size, and the third in point of population. From the mouth of the Tees to Flamborough Head the coast is bold and rocky; from Flamborough Head to Spurn Head it lies low. The interior presents the appearance of a great central valley stretching SE. to the Humber, and flanked on either side by heights - on the E. by the Cleveland Hills and the Wolds, and on the W. by the Pennine chain. . . Yorkshire takes high rank as an agricultural, manufacturing, and mining county. It is well supplied with every means of communication. It has from an early period been divided into 3 Ridings - viz., East, North, and West, besides the Ainsty or Liberty of the city of York. Each Riding has a lord-lieutenant and a separate court of quarter sessions and a commission of the peace, and statistically is treated as a distinct county. It contains 26 wapentakes; 3 liberties; 1636 pars. with parts of 2 others; the parliamentary and municipal boroughs of Bradford (3 members), Dewsbury (1 member), Halifax (2 members), Huddersfield (1 member), Kingston upon Hull (3 members), Leeds (5 members), Middlesbrough (1 member), Pontefract (1 member), Scarborough (1 member), Sheffield (5 members), Wakefield (1 member), and York (2 members); and the municipal boroughs of Barnsley, Batley, Beverley, Doncaster, Hedon, Morley, Richmond, Ripon, and Rotherham. It is in the dioceses of York, Ripon, and Manchester."
(Transcribed from Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. -C.H.)

For information which is not specific to the county of Yorkshire,
please see the England pages and the U.K. and Ireland pages or try the Genuki search engine.

If you don't know (or need a re-cap of) terms such as:
Dale, Wapentake, Parish, Deanery etc. please see the page of definitions of terms.


Position of Yorkshire

Archives and Libraries

Elsewhere in England for most of the counties you will find a County Record Office, sometimes with "sub-offices". In Yorkshire however the situation is anything but simple, not helped by the change in 1974. Prior to 1974 there were simply the 3 Ridings and York (and these Genuki Yorkshire pages are laid out in that system). After 1974 the overall administrative boundaries of Yorkshire changed, as did the internal boundaries and Yorkshire became North Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, North Humberside, and part of Cleveland with bits of Yorkshire being "given" to County Durham and Lancashire. Since 1974, things have changed yet again but not so drastically. If you are unfortunate enough to be looking for records in the parts that have changed you may have difficulty!

There are county record offices for North Yorkshire (not the same as the old North Riding) and the modern East Riding (was North Humberside and not the same as the old East Riding). West Yorkshire (not the same as the West Riding) has all of its records united. Both Kingston upon Hull and York (which is now in North Yorkshire) have City Archives. For South Yorkshire (the southern part of the old West Riding) has its archive services provided by the four district councils independently.

Additionally there are two institutions which hold archives for the whole of the old Yorkshire: The Borthwick Institute of Historical Research of the University of York, and the Yorkshire Archaeological Society (YAS). All of the above services are listed below, along with a few others:




Church Records


Civil Registration

  1. There is a list of Registration Districts for the East Riding and York, the North Riding and the West Riding, and those places within them maintained by Brett Langston. To compliment this list, there's also an alphabetical index of place-names, showing the counties and districts in which they were situated for the period 1837-1930.
  2. There is a list of Register Office addresses for England and Wales, maintained by Peter Abbott. This includes some instructions for obtaining Certificates.

Description and Travel




Land and Property

Language and Languages


Military Records

Names (Geographical)


Nobility, Gentry etc.


Officials and Employees

Poorhouses, Poor Law, etc.

Probate Records



Return to top of page




Towns and Parishes

The Ainsty and City of York.
(49 parishes)

East Riding Parishes
(204 parishes)

North Riding Parishes
(229 parishes)

West Riding Parishes
(200 parishes)

Where is it in Yorkshire? - A hyperlinked index to information on nearly all the places in Yorkshire: cities, towns, villages, most of the hamlets and some single houses are included. The list also includes links to information on some places which no longer exist.

There is also a large and detailed electronic map of the County. Please see also Maps above.

This county is maintained by Colin Hinson, with help and information provided by a great number of people who are credited on the relevant pages.

This page is copyright. Do not copy any part of this page or website other than for personal use or as given in the conditions of use.
Web-page generated by "DB2html" data-base extraction software ©Colin Hinson 2016